New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Jan 18, 2020-Saturday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Saturday, Jan 18, 2020

Crackdown against criminals continues in Gazipur

SP Gazipur says out of 10,000 licenced weapons in the district, about 7500 licence-holders have deposited their weapons till date, reports Prabhu Razdan.

india Updated: Apr 12, 2007 19:31 IST

It seems the Election Commission has tightened its noose around the criminals in the sensitive Gazipur district as part of its resolve to ensure free and fair polls where police have launched a massive crackdown against criminals.

"We have launched a massive crackdown against the criminals and recovered 110 illegal weapons from different places besides detection of seven illegal arms factories in the district," SP Gazipur LV Deo Kumar told HT, adding, "Efforts are on to recover more illegal weapons in the district."

He said out of 10,000 licenced weapons in the district, about 7500 licence-holders have deposited their weapons till date.

Gazipur jail has become a hub of criminal masterminds where crime strategies are reportedly being formulated by the criminals lodged in this jail. Mafia don Mukhtar Ansari and his brother Afzal Ansari were lodged in this jail in BJP legislator Krishnanad Rai's murder case.

"We have raided this jail and arrested some people who had managed their entry inside the jail on March 23 last," the SP said, adding, watch is being maintained on this jail.

"During the last fortnight we have conducted flag marches mainly in Muhammadabad and Dildarnagar assembly constituencies and flag marches will continue till the election is over," he said.

It may be mentioned here that BJP has fielded Alka Rai, widow of Krishnanand Rai from Muhammadabad constituency whereas SP has fielded another brother of Mukhtar Ansari. BSP has fielded Vijay S Rai from this constituency.

Similarly, Samajwadi Party has fielded Cabinet Minister Om Prakash Singh from Dildarnagar assembly constituency. He filed his nominations papers on Thursday.

BJP has fielded Brij Bhushan Kuchwaah and BSP fielded Panchpati Nath Rai.