Today in New Delhi, India
Nov 20, 2018-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Dhoom 2 music disappoints

Pritam, who has of late given some hummable scores in Gangster and Bas Ek Pal, fails to impress this time.

india Updated: Nov 07, 2006 18:15 IST

Pritam's foot-tapping score in Dhoom in 2004 had taken the music world by storm. Maybe he was helped with the film's promos showing it to be a biker's delight. Or probably Thai pop star Tata Young, who sung the super-hit Dhoom machcha le, was the surprise element.

But in the sequel Dhoom 2, Pritam cuts a sorry figure. The album begins with the number Crazy kiya re, a dance number sung by Sunidhi Chauhan with a chorus in English Sexy lady on the floor, keeps you coming back for more. But apart from a sensuous element, there is nothing much to be written about the song.

Touch Me is another racy track sung this time by the vivacious Alisha Chinai and KK. Pritam also infuses a heavy dose of instruments in the number. Quite ordinary stuff. Dil laga na is billed as the Dhoom machcha le (Dhoom anthem) of Dhoom 2.

Hrithik Roshan and Aishwarya Rai in a still from Dhoom 2.

Pritam ropes in five singers - Sukhbir, Soham Chakrabarty, Jolly Mukherjee, Mahalaxmi Iyer and Suzanne - but fails to give the same effect. He has no Tata Young either.

Vishal Dadlani along with Dominique Cerejo sings Dhoom again - the English reprise of Dhoom machcha le - but even Pritam would agree the original was better. Asaf Ali Baig has penned the lyrics for this track.

My name is Ali, sung by Sonu Nigam with Bipasha Basu chipping in with a couple of lines, is the only slow song in the album. he love song, picturised on Uday Chopra (who plays Ali in he film), remids one of Dilbara from the original film.

There is also a remix of Crazy kiya re by Bunty Rajput but there is hardly any value addition. Pritam, who has of late given some hummable scores, fails to keep up his good work.

Perhaps he was under some pressure keeping in mind the success he had in "Dhoom".

First Published: Nov 04, 2006 20:00 IST