Feel-good for RJD in Bihar | Latest News India - Hindustan Times

Feel-good for RJD in Bihar

PTI | By, Patna
May 14, 2004 03:38 PM IST

The RJD-led secular alliance won 26 out of 36 LS seats while the NDA could bag only 11 Lok Sabha seats.

Ram Kripal Yadav defeats his nearest rival CP Thakur in Patna.

The Rashtriya Janata Dal-led secular alliance won 26 out of 36 Lok Sabha seats, results for which were available till late on Thursday night. The National Democratic alliance could bag only 11 Lok Sabha seats.

The prime mover of the secular alliance, RJD supremo Laloo Prasad Yadav, romped home in Madhepura, defeating his nearest rival union minister and Janata Dal-United heavyweight Sharad Yadav by a margin of more than 69,976 votes.

Hindustan Times - your fastest source for breaking news! Read now.

Janata Dal-U chief and NDA convener George Fernandes won the Muzaffarpur Lok Sabha seat defeating his nearest rival Bhagwan Lal Sahni of the RJD by a margin of 9,693 votes. JD-U’s Nitish Kumar won the Nalanda seat defeating his nearest rival by about 1,02,000 votes, Kanti Singh of the RJD defeated her nearest rival of the CPI-ML (Liberation) Ram Naresh Ram by a handsome margin of 1,49,743 votes to win the Ara Lok Sabha seat.

In Patna, Ram Kripal Yadav of the RJD trounced union minister C P Thakur by a margin of 38,562 votes. Birchand Paswan of the RJD defeated his nearest rival and union minister Sanjay Paswan of the BJP by a margin of 56,006 votes in Nawada.

Senior RJD leader Raghuvansh Prasad Singh won the Vaishali Lok Sabha seat defeating his nearest rival (Independent) Vijay Kumar Shukla by a margin of 1,05,174 votes.

In Sitamarhi state public relation minister Sitaram Yadav defeated Nawal Kishore Rai of the JD-U by a margin of 38,022 votes. Sitaram Singh of the RJD vanquished the recent entrant to BJP Mohammad Anwarul Haque by a massive margin of 1,00,887 votes in Sheohar constituency.

Congress candidate Meira Kumar, daughter of late Jagjivan Ram, defeated her nearest rival former union minister Muni Lal of the BJP by 50,000 votes in Sasaram. In extremist infested Aurangabad constituency, the Congress nominee Nikhil Kumar defeated Sushil Kumar Singh of the JD-U by a slender margin of 7,200 votes. Former union minister and Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) chief Ram Vilas Paswan defeated his nearest rival Chhedi Paswan of JD-U by a margin of 2,37,621 votes in Hajipur.

Unveiling 'Elections 2024: The Big Picture', a fresh segment in HT's talk show 'The Interview with Kumkum Chadha', where leaders across the political spectrum discuss the upcoming general elections. Watch Now!

Get Updates on India News, Farmers Protest Live alongwith the Latest News and Top Headlines from India and around the the world.
Share this article
Story Saved
Live Score
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Thursday, February 22, 2024
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Follow Us On