"I've been advised not to talk to media"
Inzamam refused to comment on his dismissal in the first ODI and the controversy sparked by his criticism of the Indians' appealing.Updated: Feb 10, 2006 17:53 IST
Pakistan captain Inzamam-ul-HaqonFridayrefused to comment on his dismissal in the firstODI and the controversy sparked by his criticism of the Indians' appealing against his obstructing the field then.
"I have been advised not to talk to the media about it," said the home team skipper at a press conference on the eve of the secondODI at the Pindi stadium.
Inzamam was declared out for "obstructing the field" in Peshawar when he stopped a throw to the non-striker's end with his bat.
He had claimed not to have known the rules soon after the match, won by Pakistan by seven runs under the D/L Method, and had said he was run out in the preceding series against England when he moved away from a throw.
A day later, in his newspaper column, Inzamam slammed the Indians for appealing against him, terming their action as "unsporsmanlike" and "against the spirit of the game".
Today, however, Inzamam played straight over the hot issue and decided to keep mum.
India captain Rahul Dravid chose to not enter into a war of words over the issue.
"In my opinion and in the opinion of the umpires and the match referee to whom I have spoken to, the Indian team did not act in any manner that was unsportsmanlike or against the spirit of the game," he had said yesterday.
"If it had been the case the umpires and match referee would have taken action," he said.
First Published: Feb 10, 2006 16:00 IST