HT Image
HT Image

Jharkhand booth counts, names winner

Bhutku Oraon, the presiding officer of booth No. 51 in Lohardaga Lok Sabha constituency just couldn?t wait till May 13 ? the counting day.
PTI | By Madan Kumar, Ranchi
UPDATED ON APR 29, 2004 01:23 AM IST

Bhutku Oraon, the presiding officer of booth No. 51 in Jharkhand’s Lohardaga Lok Sabha constituency just couldn’t wait till May 13 — counting day. He not only counted the votes polled in the electronic voting machine (EVM) immediately after polling on April 26, he also announced the result in the presence of villagers, polling agents and journalists.

Oraon, a teacher, reportedly also declared the number of votes polled by each candidate. He justified his action, saying during a training programme on the use of EVMs, he had been taught that “presiding officers must announce the result of his booth among villagers in order to maintain transparency in the electoral system”.

“I am doing what I was taught,” Oraon told local journalists when they questioned his move.

The seat is being contested by former additional director general of police Rameswar Oraon of the Congress and sitting BJP MP Dukha Bhagar.

The Election Commission has ordered an inquiry — and a repoll — in the booth on April 29.

Story Saved