Jharkhand CM to seek trust vote today

After Vinod Kumar Singh declared to vote against the motion, Koda is banking on the support of 41 legislators.

india Updated: Sep 20, 2006 10:49 IST

Jharkhand Chief Minister Madhu Koda, heading the new UPA dispensation, will move the vote of confidence motion in the state Assembly on Wednesday.

After the lone CPI (ML-Liberation) MLA, Vinod Kumar Singh, on Tuesday night declared to vote against the motion, Koda is banking on the support of 41 legislators now.

Singh's decision, however, should be neutralised as BJP MLA, Upendra Das has left for Vellore for a medical check-up. Das had been to Vellore in July for treatment as well, according to senior BJP MLA Saryu Roy.

Congress MLA Pradeep Kumar Balmachu has been appointed as the officiating Speaker to conduct the vote of confidence. He can vote only in case of a tie.

Meanwhile Saryu Roy has given a memorandum to Governor Syed Sibtey Razi urging him for election of a regular Speaker before taking up the vote of confidence.

"As there is only one agenda (floor test) today, it seems the House will be adjourned sine die. In that scenario how long would the acting speaker continue?" Roy said.

The NDA would meet the Governor at 9.30 am in this regard, he said.

The UPA coalition includes: JMM (17), Congress (nine-including officiating speaker), RJD (seven), United Goan Democratic Party (two), Forward Bloc-one, NCP-one and Independents/others-five.

The NDA comprises: BJP-30, JDU-six, All Jharkhand Students Union-two and one nominated MLA.

First Published: Sep 20, 2006 10:18 IST