New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Dec 10, 2019-Tuesday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Tuesday, Dec 10, 2019

K'taka polls: 67.8% polling in second phase

About 67.8 pc of the 1.10 crore electorate cast their ballot on Friday in the second phase of polling in 66 constituencies spread over ten districts.

india Updated: May 25, 2008 12:28 IST


About 67.8 per cent of the 1.10 crore electorate cast their ballot on Friday in the second phase of polling in Karnataka Assembly elections in 66 constituencies spread over ten districts, Election Department sources said on Saturday.

Karnataka Chief Electoral Officer, M N Vidyashankar told reporters that Bellary, classified as a highly sensitive district, recorded 66.64 per cent.

Chikmagalur registered 71.14 per cent, Chitradurga 67.83 per cent, Dakshina Kannada 72.87 per cent, Davanagere 70.84 per cent, Koppal 62.39 per cent, Raichur 54.01 per cent, Shimoga 70.06 per cent, Udupi 75.63 per cent and Uttara Kannada 69 per cent.

Incidentally, these districts had registered 67.8 per cent polling in the 2004 Assembly elections also, he said.

Vidyashankar said there was a possibility of ordering re-poll in two or three polling booths and awaited reports from Returning Officers.

Sources had projected about 60 per cent polling on Friday.

The second phase of polling was by and large peaceful and was held amid unprecedented security cover.The security was tightened in the light of poll-related violence in which Naxalites shot dead two persons in Hebri in Udupi district on May 15 and also some clashes between Congress and BJP workers in Bellary.

Voters sealed the poll fortunes of 589 aspirants, including BJP Chief Ministerial candidate BS Yeddyurappa and his opponent in Shikaripura, S Bangarappa of Samajwadi party.

In the first phase of election in 89 Assembly segments spread across 11 districts, about 66 per cent of an estimated 1.73 crore electorate had exercised their franchise

A total of 155 constituencies out of the 224 seats have gone through the voting process and remaining 69 from eight districts face election on May 22, in the final phase.

The counting of votes will be taken up on May 25.