Kapali records maiden Test hat-trick

Updated on Aug 29, 2003 08:24 PM IST

Alok Kapali recorded Bangladesh's maiden hat-trick in Test cricket in the second Test against Pakistan at Arbab Niaz stadium.

HT Image
HT Image
PTI | ByAgence France-Presse, Peshawar

Leg-spinner Alok Kapali recorded Bangladesh's maiden hat-trick in Test cricket on the third day of the second Test against Pakistan at Peshawar's Arbab Niaz stadium on Friday.

Kapali dismissed Shabbir Ahmed and Danish Kaneria with the fifth and sixth ball of his second over and then had Umer Gul off the first ball of his third over to become the 31st bowler and provided the 29th instance in Test cricket's 128-year history when a bowler took three wickets off successive deliveries.

Australia's Trevor Mathews and Hugh Trumble and Pakistan's Wasim Akram recorded two hat-tricks in their career.

Mathews achieved the singular honour of recording hat-tricks in both innings of a Test.

Freddie Spofforth of Australia was the first to record the feat when he achieved the honour way back in 1878-79.

Ten bowlers from Australia, nine from England, four bowlers each from the West Indies and Pakistan and one each from India, New Zealand, South Africa, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka have recorded the feat.

Here is the complete list of bowlers who have achieved hat-tricks in Test cricket:

1: FR Spofforth Aus v Eng Melbourne 1878-1879

2: W Bates Eng v Aus Melbourne 1882-83

3: J Briggs Eng v Aus Sydney 1891-92

4: GA Lohmann Eng v RSA Port Elizabeth 1895-96

5: JT Hearne Eng v Aus Leeds 1899

6: H Trumble Aus v Eng Melbourne 1901-02

7: H Trumble Aus v Eng Melbourne 1903-04

8 and 9: TJ Matthews Aus v RSA Manchester 1912

10: MJC Allom Eng v NZ Christchurch 1929-30

11: TWJ Goddard Eng v RSA Johannesburg 1938-39

12: PJ Loader Eng v WI Leeds 1957

13: LF Kline Aus v RSA Cape Town 1957-58

14: WW Hall WI v Pak Lahore 1958-59

15: GM Griffin RSA v Eng Lord's 1960

16: LR Gibbs WI v Aus Adelaide 1960-61

17: PJ Petherick NZ v Pak Lahore 1976-77

18: CA Walsh WI v Aus Brisbane 1988-89

19: MG Hughes Aus v WI Perth 1988-89

20: DW Fleming Aus v Pak Rawalpindi 1994-95

21: SK Warne Aus v Eng Melbourne 1994-95

22: DG Cork Eng v WI Old Trafford 1995

23: D Gough Eng v Aus Sydney 1998-99

24: Wasim Akram Pak v SL Lahore 1998-99

25: Wasim Akram Pak v SL Dhaka 1998-99

26: DNT Zoysa SL v Zim Harare 1999-2000

27: Abdur Razzaq Pak v SL Galle 1999-2000

28: GD McGrath Aus v WI Perth 2000-01

29: Harbhajan Singh Ind v Aus Calcutta 2000-01

30: Mohammad Sami Pak v SL Lahore 2001-

31:JJC Lawson WI v Aus Bridgetown 2002-03

32: Alok Kapali Pak v Ban Peshawar 2003

Get Latest India Newsalong with Latest Newsand Top Headlinesfrom India and around the world.
Story Saved
Saved Articles
My Reads
My Offers
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Tuesday, December 06, 2022
Start 15 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Register Free and get Exciting Deals