Karnataka ministry expanded
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 17, 2019-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Karnataka ministry expanded

Eleven BJP members and nine from JD(S) were sworn in as ministers at a ceremony held in Vidhana Soudha.

india Updated: Feb 17, 2006 12:28 IST

Two weeks after assuming office, the BJP-JD(S) ministry in Karnataka headed byHD Kumaraswamy,was on Friday expanded.

Eleven members from BJP and nine from JD(S) were sworn in as ministers at a ceremony held at the portals of Vidhana Soudha.

Coming to power for the first time in a southern state, BJP has given weightage to its time-tested loyalists while accommodating some new entrants also.

Of the nine ministers from its side, JD(S) has given berths to six members who were in its previous coalition ministry with Congress.

The new ministers are KS Eshwarappa, Jagadish Shettar, DH Shankara Murthy, C Ramachandra Gowda, VS Acharya, CM Udasi, Govind Karjol, R Ashok, Katta Subramanya Naidu, D Sriramlu and Nagaraja Shetty, all from BJP.

The JD(S) members are Basavaraj Horatti, C Chenigappa, DT Jayakumar, Cheluvaraya Swamy, Iqbal Answari, Sharanabasappa Darshanapur, Bandeppa Kashampur, Hanumanthappa Yelappa Alkod and Balachandra Jharkiholi.

First Published: Feb 17, 2006 11:02 IST