KDA removes 16 JEs

VICE CHAIRMAN (VC) of Kanpur Development Authority (KDA) Deepak Kumar has removed 16 junior engineers (JEs) of the anti-encroachment squad with immediate effect

india Updated: Nov 27, 2006 00:23 IST

VICE CHAIRMAN (VC) of Kanpur Development Authority (KDA) Deepak Kumar has removed 16 junior engineers (JEs) of the anti-encroachment squad with immediate effect.

However, officials of the rank of joint secretary and assistant engineers have been spared even without any formal questioning thereby putting a question mark on the entire exercise.

Kumar took the decision after receiving several complaints relating to gross anomalies in their working and charges of corruption against them. The VC’s axe has fallen even on those JEs who took over charge barely 14 days ago. The new JEs in the anti-encroachment squad have already been appointed.

Issuing directives to the new JEs the KDA VC has instructed them to prepare a comprehensive report of all illegal constructions in their respective areas. On the basis of this report a drive against illegal constructions would be launched.

Reports said that taking cognisance of several complaints about illegal constructions going on unabated in the city despite the anti-encroachment drive the KDA VC ordered a ‘secret probe’ into the matter. Findings of the probe corroborated the complaints received by the VC. Acting on the final report Kumar removed the JEs deputed in all four zones with immediate effect.

As a precautionary measure and to keep tabs on the working of JEs, the KDA VC has also appointed assistant engineers above JEs in the anti-encroachment squads in all four zones.

However, singling out only JEs and blaming them for illegal constructions has led to widespread resentment among KDA employees. Responsibility for illegal constructions has been fixed at all the three levels — lower, middle and higher. But action only at the lower level has incensed the employees. Joint secretary of the anti-encroachment squad Naresh Srivastav could barely ensure on the spot assessment of the drive for two days before he had an accident.

hereafter, he passed on all the responsibility for the drive on the JEs.
It may be pointed out that Chief Minister Mulayam Singh Yadav during his last visit to the city had hinted at strict action against engineers responsible for illegal constructions. Following directives of the CM the KDA VC initiated the action against JEs.

Junior engineers who have been assigned the work of zones two and three include Anil Srivastav, Ram Kumar Awasthi, Shauri Lal, Amar Kumar Mishra, Ram Manohar, Sanjeev Kumar, RK Singh and Sanjay Kumar. Junior engineers Bhanu Prakash Mishra, Rajendra Singh, Mukesh Mishra, KK Bahuguna, Tribuhan Singh, BN Srivastav, Ravindra Kumar and Subhash Tripathi have been appointed for zone one and four.

First Published: Nov 27, 2006 00:23 IST