Updated on Apr 04, 2004 03:39 PM IST

The constituency shot into national fame with Congress spokesman Jaipal Reddy winning from here in 1999 against great odds.

HT Image
HT Image
PTI | Byhindustantimes.com, New Delhi

The constituency in the backward Nalgonda district of Andhra Pradesh, shot into national fame with present Congress spokesman Jaipal Reddy winning from here in 1999 against great odds. He is likely to contest from here once again.

Formerly a communist bastion, the constituency has sided with Congress since 1996 polls.

Former spokesman of United Front, S Jaipal Reddy had quit Janata Dal to join Congress in the run-up to the general elections in 1999. His victory from here was considered big as he had shifted from his home constituency Mahaboobnagar.

He defeated Rangashai Reddy yadevelli of TDP by 52077 votes in a 9-cornered contest in 1999, polled 4.12% of the votes polled. Congress had won the seat in 1998 also when Narsihma Reddy drubbed Cherupalli Seeta Ramulu of CPM by 14498 votes a 11-cornered contest. Earlier in 1996, Narsimha had defeated Mallu Swarajyam of CPM by 43876 votes.
The seat had gone to Congress in 1989 also when BN Reddy defeated CPI-M's B Narsimha Reddy but the situation reversed in 1991. Congress won back the seat in 1996 with the same candidate, but the CPI-M's candidate had changed to Mallu Swarajyam.

Miryalguda has seven assembly segments of which Kodad, Chalakurthy and Suryapet are represented  by TDP. Miryalguda and Nakrekal are represented by CPI(M) while Congress and CPI represent Tungathurthy and Ramannapet seats respectively.

There are about 90 lakh voters in the constituency.

Get Latest India Newsalong with Latest Newsand Top Headlinesfrom India and around the world.
Story Saved
Saved Articles
My Reads
My Offers
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Tuesday, September 27, 2022
Start 15 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Register Free and get Exciting Deals