Today in New Delhi, India
May 20, 2019-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Mizoram ready to count votes, says CEO

All necessary arrangements have been made for counting of votes, in election to 40-member Mizoram assembly held on Nov 20, to be taken up from 8.00 am on Tuesday.

india Updated: Dec 01, 2003 17:06 IST
Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India

All the necessary arrangements for counting of votes, in the election to the 40-member Mizoram state assembly held on November 20, to be taken up from 8.00 am on Tuesday in all the eight district headquarters, state Chief Electoral Officer Lalmalsawma said.

Lalmalsawma said all the results are most likely to be known by early afternoon.

He, however, said that votes cast in the Mizoram-Manipur border Suangpuilawn constituency, where violent activities like abduction of candidates, intimidation of voters and destruction of poll materials were reported, would not be counted tomorrow. The Election Commission was yet to announce its decision on the constituency, he said.

He said that tight security arrangement had been made in all the counting centres where state police and para-military force personnel were deployed.

More than 78.58 per cent of the total electorate of 5,33,634 exercised franchise and sealed the fates of 192 candidates in the state assembly polls held on November 20.

The Congress contested all the 40 seats while the ruling Mizo National Front contested 39 seats and supported an independent candidate in Serchhip constituency where former Chief minister and state PCC chier Lal Thanhawla tried his luck for the fifth time.

The Mizoram People's Conference (MPC) and Zoram Nationalist Party (ZNP) combine tried their fortunes in 36 constituencies while supporting smaller ethnic-based political parties in four seats in the south. Janata Dal (U) fielded 28 candidates while the BJP contested only in eight seats.

First time electronic voting machine was used in the polls and photo identity cards introduce in the state.

First Published: Dec 01, 2003 17:06 IST