Naidu, Rajasekhara Reddy, Raju in second round

Published on Apr 24, 2004 08:42 PM IST

Naidu, YSR Reddy and over a dozen ministers are among the key candidates in the 2nd phase of the Assembly polls due on Monday.

HT Image
HT Image
PTI | ByIndo-Asian News Service, Hyderabad

Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu and his likely successor YS Rajasekhara Reddy and over a dozen ministers are among the key candidates in the second phase of the assembly elections due on Monday.

Central minister UV Krishnam Raju, Telugu Desam Party (TDP) founder NT Rama Rao's daughter Purandareswari and Rajasekhara Reddy's brother YS Vivekanand Reddy are among the leading candidates for the Lok Sabha elections.

Some 23.6 million voters will decide the fortunes of 1,037 candidates in 147 Assembly and 147 candidates in 21 Lok Sabha constituencies.

The nominees include about 40 rebels of the Congress and the TDP who are threatening the prospects of official candidates in some constituencies.

The constituencies going to the polls on Monday are spread over six south coastal Andhra districts and the Rayalaseema region comprising four districts.

While south coastal Andhra accounts for 94 seats in the 294-member assembly, Rayalaseema sends 53 legislators.

An equal number of assembly and Lok Sabha constituencies covering the entire Telangana region and three districts of north coastal Andhra went to the polls in the first phase April 20.

Chandrababu Naidu is seeking re-election from Kuppam constituency in his home district Chittoor while his brother entered the fray as an independent from Chandragiri constituency in the same district after quitting the Congress.

Chandrababu Naidu's co-brother D Venkateswara Rao is contesting as a Congress candidate from Parchur constituency.

Rajasekhara Reddy, who has never lost an election, is once again contesting from his pocket borough Pulivendula in Cuddapah district.

Finance minister Y Ramakrishnudu (Tuni), Industries Minister K Vidyadhar Rao (Chintalapudi) and Agriculture Minister V Shobhanadreswara Rao (Mylavaram), 14 other ministers and film actress RK Roja (Nagri) are among the prominent TDP candidates.

NTR's second wife and leader of NTR TDP Lakshmi Parvathi is trying her luck from Atmakur constituency in Kurnool district.

Other prominent candidates for the Lok Sabha elections include former Congress leader MV Mysoora Reddy, eminent film producer D Rama Naidu, former chief minister K Vijaybhaskar Reddy's son K Suryaprakash Reddy and senior TDP leader Umareddy Venkateswarlu.

NTR's daughter and Venkateswara Rao's wife Purandareswari is also contesting as a Congress candidate from Bapatla Lok Sabha constituency.

She faces former TDP MP and film producer D Rama Naidu, who also happens to be her husband's uncle.

Viveknand Reddy is seeking re-election from the family's stronghold Cuddapah Lok Sabha constituency. He faces TDP's MV Mysoora Reddy, who quit the Congress a few weeks before elections were announced.

Krishnam Raju, a junior minister at the centre and BJP leader, is contesting from Narsapur. In Rajhamundry, BJP president M Venkaiah Naidu's close friend K Sarvayudu faces a stiff challenge from party rebel and former central minister SVBVK Satyanarayana Rao.

The TDP has fielded another famous film producer Aswini Dutt in Vijayawada Lok Sabha constituency. He is facing a tough contest from industrialist and Congress candidate L Rajagopal.

Get Latest India Newsalong with Latest Newsand Top Headlinesfrom India and around the world.
Story Saved
Saved Articles
My Reads
My Offers
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Thursday, October 06, 2022
Start 15 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Register Free and get Exciting Deals