New Canadian PM names a 27-member Cabinet

Stephen Harper has been sworn in as Canada's 22nd Prime Minister, two weeks after his party's narrow victory.

india Updated: Feb 07, 2006 13:09 IST

Stephen Harper was on Monday sworn in as Canada's 22nd Prime Minister, two weeks after his party's narrow victory paved the way for the country's first Conservative government since 1993.

"It is a great honour and a feeling of great responsibility to be sworn in as the 22nd Prime Minister of Canada," said Harper during an outdoor news conference following the swearing-in ceremony at the Governor General's official residence in Ottawa on Monday morning.

He named a 27-member Cabinet, including himself, down from the 39 that Paul Martin named in 2004. The average age of the new Cabinet is just under 51.

"I've assembled a smaller cabinet, but one I believe is more focused and more effective," said 47-year-old Harper, adding that the new ministers are "talented and diversified and reflect Canada."

There are six women in Harper's Cabinet, including Rona Ambrose and Bev Oda. Noticeably absent is outspoken Calgary MP Diane Ablonczy, one of 14 Conservative women who were elected.

Harper appointed five representatives from Quebec as well as party veterans Stockwell Day.

Monte Stephen Harper's Cabinet Key members: Jim Flaherty, Finance Peter MacKay, Foreign Affairs; David Emerson, Int'l Trade; Tony Clement, Health; Gordon O'Connor, Defence; Vic Toews, Justice; Rona Ambrose, Environment; Stockwell Day, Public Safety; Monte Solberg, Citizenship Maxime Bernier, Industry; John Baird, Treasury Board; Rob Nicholson, Democrat

First Published: Feb 07, 2006 12:39 IST