Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 20, 2019-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Rioting case: Five BJP leaders charged

The charges were framed against the five BJP leaders, including Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi and Vijay Goel.

india Updated: Aug 28, 2006 21:24 IST
Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India

A Delhi court on Monday framed charges against five BJP leaders, including Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi and Vijay Goel, in a case of rioting and unlawful assembly lodged about two years ago.

Additional Chief Metropolitan Magistrate Dr Kamini Lau framed charges against BJP General Secretary Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, former MP Vijay Goel, Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chauhan, Delhi BJP President Dr Harshvardhan and Pavan Sharma.

The five have been charged under Sections 147 (rioting), 148 (rioting with deadly weapon), 149 (unlawful assembly), 186 (obstructing public servant in discharge of his duty), 332 (causing hurt to public servant) and 188 (disobeying public servant's order).

The case now comes up for trial on February 1, 2007.

According to the FIR, on November 6, 2004 Bhartiya Janta Yuva Morcha organised a demonstration at Jantar Mantar in protest against the rise in prices of petrol and diesel. They applied for permission to hold demonstration but were denied by the administration and preventive orders section 144 were promulgated.

The leaders, however, allegedly went ahead with their demonstration and assembled a crowd of 500-600 workers. They addressed the assembly after which it raised anti-government slogans and broke the barricades erected by the police.

They also allegedly threw stones at the police and hit them with flagpoles injuring several policemen.

First Published: Aug 28, 2006 21:24 IST