HT Image
HT Image

Road to the finish

A team by team analysis of the Australian Grand Prix.
None | By HT Correspondent
UPDATED ON MAR 17, 2008 06:35 PM IST

MCLAREN (Lewis Hamilton 1,Heikki Kovalainen 5)

Hamilton produced a flawless drive to claim his fifth Grand Prix win after starting from pole position while Kovalainen finished fifth, after running second for most of the race, when he lost ground with the introduction of the safety car.

BMW SAUBER (Nick Heidfeld 2, Robert Kubica retired)

Heidfeld equalled his best finish while Kubica was second for the first 15 laps but slipped back while the safety car was on course before eventually retiring on lap 47 when he collided with Kazuki Nakajima.

WILLIAMS (Nico Rosberg 3, Kazuki Nakajima 6)

Rosberg claimed the first podium finish of his F1 career with a faultless drive while Nakajima survived two incidents that damaged the front of his car to join his team mate in the points, though he starts the next race with a 10-place penalty.

RENAULT (Fernando Alonso 4, Nelson Piquet retired)

Piquet rejoined the race after being involved in a collision on the first lap but retired halfway through while Alonso showed the benefit of his experience as he worked through the field to finish in the points.

HONDA (Jenson Button retired, Rubens Barrichello disqualified)

Button was another casualty of the first corner mayhem while Barrichello was disqualified after he had finished sixth for leaving the pit lane under a red light.

TORO ROSSO (Sebastien Bourdais 7, Sebastian Vettel retired)

Bourdais joined a select group of drivers to finish in the points on debut despite blowing an engine two laps from the end while Vettel stalled on the grid then crashed out on the first turn.

RED BULL (David Coulthard retired, Mark Webber retired)

Webber crashed out on the opening lap after two separate incidents while Coulthard made his exit after tangling with Massa.

TOYOTA (Jarno Trulli retired, Timo Glock retired)

Trulli retired after 19 laps when his battery overheated while Glock was involved in a crash 15 laps from the end that wrecked his car.

SUPER AGURI (Takuma Sato retired, Anthony Davidson retired)

Davidson was also caught up in the first lap skirmish while Sato was forced to call it a day after 32 laps when his car broke down.

FORCE INDIA (Giancarlo Fisichella retired, Adrian Sutil retired)

Fisichella was shunted from behind on the opening lap while Sutil quit early in the race because of a hydraulic pressure problem.

FERRARI (Kimi Raikkonen 8, Felipe Massa retired)

Raikkonen got as high as third after starting the race from 15th place but ran off the track on lap 30 and then spun on lap 43 before eventually breaking down five laps from the end. Massa hit the wall on the opening lap, collided with David Coulthard on lap 25 and retired on lap 29.

Story Saved