Today in New Delhi, India
Nov 17, 2018-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Shiela Dikshit, Delhi cabinet take oath of office

Sheila Dikshit-led seven-member Council of Ministers took oath for the second consecutive term today.

india Updated: Dec 15, 2003 18:12 IST

Sheila Dikshit-led seven-member Council of Ministers was sworn in on Monday to rule Delhi for the second five-year term.

Lt Governor Vijai Kapoor administered the oath of office and secrecy to Dikshit, AK Walia, Haroon Yusuf, Raj Kumar Chauhan, Mangat Ram Singhal, Yoganand Shastri and Arvinder Singh 'Lovely' at an impressive function at Raj Niwas at 1130 hours.

Dikshit met Kapoor on Friday night handing over the list of her party MLAs to enable him initiate the process of government with the Centre.

A surprise omission in her new Cabinet is Ajay Maken, who was widely acknowledged for his "performance" in the Power and Transport ministries during difficult times. He is tipped to become the Speaker of Assembly.

The Congress government, which first wrested power in Delhi in 1998 ousting BJP, romped back in the December 1 Assembly polls with two-third majority for the second time.

Congress bagged 47 of the 70 seats at stake, five less than the previous score.

First Published: Dec 15, 2003 11:43 IST