Shiv Sena to contest from 7 LS seats in Jharkhand

Published on Apr 02, 2004 12:57 PM IST

Shiv Sena will contest from seven parliamentary seats in Jharkhand in the forthcoming election, party observer, Sunil Chitnis, said.

HT Image
HT Image
PTI | ByPress Trust of India, Jamshedpur

Shiv Sena will contest from seven parliamentary constituencies in Jharkhand in the forthcoming election.

Announcing the names of its candidates, Sunil Chitnis, the party observer, told newsmen this afternoon that while the party has finalised the names of four candidates, it will take a decision regarding the names for three other seats, where the party will put up its candidates in the next few days.

He said Munna Sharma, president of Jharkhand Loktantrik party, will be the party candidate for prestigious Jamshedpur seat, Hikim Soren from Singhbhum (Reserve), Ramdeo Ram, a former M.P, from Palamu and Shakuntala Devi from Dhanbad.

Claiming that the Shiv Sena has good prospect in Jharkhand, he said development of Jharkhand and employment to youths will be their major poll plank.

Munna Sharma had formed the Jharkhand Loktantrik Party a couple of years ago and spearheaded the anti-domicile group, when the state had witnessed a large-scale violence.

Get Latest India Newsalong with Latest Newsand Top Headlinesfrom India and around the world.
Story Saved
Saved Articles
My Reads
My Offers
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Wednesday, September 28, 2022
Start 15 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Register Free and get Exciting Deals