Sonia takes oath as LS member

The UPA chairperson had won the Rae Bareli Lok Sabha seat by a record margin of more than 4.17 lakh votes.

india Updated: May 15, 2006 11:42 IST

Congress President Sonia Gandhi, won had the bye-election from Rae Bareily constituency by a record margin of over four lakh votes, took oath as a Lok Sabha member on Monday.

Sonia had quit the lower House in wake of the office of profit controversy over one and a half months back.

Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, Priyanka Gandhi, Robert Vadra, Rahul Gandhi, Pranab Mukherjee and other Cabinet ministers were also present.

After taking oath, Gandhi was greeted by Leader of the Opposition LK Advani and BJP Leader VK Malhotra and other members in the Opposition.

First Published: May 15, 2006 00:00 IST