New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Oct 19, 2019-Saturday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Saturday, Oct 19, 2019

Speaker issues orders disqalifying 13 MLAs

Speaker Mata Prasad Pandey on Monday did not rule out possibilities of disqualifying remaining breakaway group MLAs of BSP, reports Umesh Raghuvanshi.

india Updated: Feb 20, 2007 00:29 IST

Speaker Mata Prasad Pandey on Monday did not rule out possibilities of disqualifying remaining breakaway group MLAs of BSP even as he issued formal orders disqualifying 13 BSP MLAs w. e. f. August 27, 2003.

Talking to media persons, the Speaker said orders to disqualify 13 MLAs have been issued in pursuance of Supreme Court verdict given on February 14. The Speaker said he would seek opinion from Advocate General and other legal experts about the remaining MLAs of the BSP breakaway group. A notification declaring the 13 seats vacant had been issued and its copies had been sent to the Principal Secretary to the Governor and the Election Commission.   

Asked whether he had passed any orders to recover salary and pension paid to 13 disqualified MLAs, he said no such orders had been issued.

A senior officer of Vidhan Sabha secretariat, however, said no recovery had been made from Samajwadi Party MP Jaya Bachchan whom Election Commission had disqualified on different grounds. This was done on the basis of legal opinion and same precedence may apply to these 13 MLAs, he said. Those disqualified include Rajendra Singh Rana, Shailendra Yadav alias Lalai, Yogesh Pratap Singh alias Yogesh Bhaiya, Rajendra Singh Chauhan, Jai Prakash Yadav, Jaiveer Singh, Surendra Vikram Singh, Veerendra Singh Bundela “Bhagat Raja”, Rajpal Tyagi, Nawab Ali Khan alias Naved Mian, Qutubuddin Ansari, Dinesh Singh and Brijendra Pratap Singh.

Meanwhile, the Rashtriya Lok Dal today requested the Speaker to disqualify its three MLAs who had cross-voted in favour of the Chief Minister Mulayam Singh Yadav's trust motion in Vidhan Sabha on January 25, 2007. The RLD Legislature Party leader Kokab Hamid filed the application before the Speaker seeking disqualification of Ganga Prasad Pushkar, Samar Pal Singh and Prem Singh Daroga. The Speaker said the RLD had not given any petition on prescribed format to disqualify three MLAs and had even an incorrect date of cross-voting in the petition.

About BJP's petition seeking disqualification of 10 MLAs, the Speaker said the Leader of Opposition Lalji Tandon had sent him a letter on the issue. Asked about expediting the BJP's petition against three out of 10 MLAs, he said the party was not pursuing its own petition seriously. No one from the BJP had turned at last date of hearing, he said adding that the hearing in the case would now take place on March 12, 2007.

First Published: Feb 20, 2007 00:29 IST

top news