Two-thirds majority for Cong-TRS in Andhra Pradesh | Latest News India - Hindustan Times

Two-thirds majority for Cong-TRS in Andhra Pradesh

PTI | ByPress Trust of India, Hyderabad
May 11, 2004 08:28 PM IST

The Congress and its allies have gained absolute majority. They have sounded an end to the 10-year Chandrababu Naidu govt.

The Congress and its allies in Andhra Pradesh has gained the absolute majority, thereby sounding an end to the 10-year Chandrababu Naidu government. In the 294-member Assembly, the Congress and allies have got 214 seats, TDP and allies 50 and others 30.

HT Image
HT Image

TDP N Chandrababu Naidu has, however retained his Kuppam seat.

Unlock exclusive access to the story of India's general elections, only on the HT App. Download Now!

The Congress-led coalition that includes left parties was leading in all the three regions of coastal Andhra, Telengana and Rayalseema. In Rayalseema alone the TDP was putting up a semblance of fight while in the other two regions it was suffering huge losses.

However, the top leaders in the race Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu, Congress chief ministerial prospect YS Rajshekhar Reddy and TRS chief K Chandrashekhar Rao, all have won from their respective constituencies.

Counting of votes for 294-member Andhra Pradesh Assembly began on Tuesday morning amidst tight security.

The fate of 1,896 candidates, including Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu (Kuppam), senior TDP leader and Home Minister T Devender Goud (Medchal), several state ministers, Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) President Chandrasekhar Rao (Siddipet) and Andhra Pradesh Congress Committee President D Srinivas (Nizamabad) would be decided on Tuesday.

Counting of votes began at 8 am and the results are expected to be out by Tuesday evening.

Early counting has been ordered in Andhra Pradesh as the new government should be in place by May 13 when the six-month deadline of the caretake TDP cabinet ends.

About 10,000 personnel have been drafted for counting of votes which is expected to be a quick affair with Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) being deployed at all polling booths for the first time in the state.

Elaborate security arrangements have been made to ensure smooth counting of votes at 115 designated centres spread 42 cities and towns.

Discover the complete story of India's general elections on our exclusive Elections Product! Access all the content absolutely free on the HT App. Download now!

Get Current Updates on India News, Lok Sabha Election 2024 Live, Election 2024 along with Latest News and Top Headlines from India and around the world.
Share this article
Story Saved
Live Score
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Monday, April 15, 2024
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Follow Us On