US honours for 17 Indian students

Updated on May 18, 2007 03:37 PM IST
The 17 Indian Americans are selected among 141 students as presidential scholars on the basis of their academic achievement.
HT Image
HT Image
IANS | By, New York

Seventeen Indian American students are among 141 high school seniors selected as the 2007 Presidential Scholars for their outstanding academic achievement, artistic excellence, leadership, citizenship, and contribution to school and the community.

A 27-member Commission on Presidential Scholars appointed by President George W Bush selected the scholars based on their academic success, artistic excellence, essays, school evaluations and transcripts, as well as evidence of community service, and demonstrated commitment to high ideals, media reported.

Neil S Nayak, Arjun V Landes, Mahesh K Vidula, Miel Sundarajan, Vivek R Sant, Subha Perni, Shaan B Patel, Reema B Shah, Chetan Narain, Arnav Tirpathy, Archana Rajender, Prateek S Bhide, Umang J Shukla, Shalin S Patel, Mehdi M Rizvi, Pranothi Hiremath and Jay K Shah will be honoured for their accomplishments in Washington from June 23 to 27.

All the presidential scholars, in addition to academics, are keenly interested in a variety of extracurricular issues.

The programme was created in 1964 to honour academic achievement. It was expanded in 1979 to recognise students who demonstrate exceptional talent in the visual, literary and performing arts as well.

Close Story
Story Saved
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Wednesday, August 17, 2022
Start 15 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now