Today in New Delhi, India
Oct 15, 2018-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Watson, Johnson in Aussie team

Allrounder Shane Watson and fast bowler Mitchell Johnson are in the team for the one-day series in South Africa starting later this month.

india Updated: Feb 15, 2006 11:58 IST

All-rounder Shane Watson and fast bowler Mitchell Johnson were named on Wednesday in the Australian teamfor the one-day seriesin South Africa starting later this month.

Watson replaces James Hopes and Johnson replaces Brett Dorey who were members of the Australian squad which beat Sri Lanka 2-1 in the tri-series finals which ended on Tuesday.

Johnson made his debut in the Chappell-Hadlee series against New Zealand in December, while Watson has been sidelined since November by a shoulder injury.

Veteran fast bowler Glenn McGrath made himself unavailable for the one-day series to be with his wife, Jane, who has suffered a recurrence of cancer. New South Wales opener Phil Jaques also missed selection on Wednesday, but may among players recalled for the later Test series.

Australia's tour starts with a Twenty20 international on February 24, followed by the first of five limited overs matches on February 26.

Squad: Ricky Ponting (captain), Adam Gilchrist, Nathan Bracken, Michael Clarke, Stuart Clark, Brad Hogg, Michael Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Simon Katich, Brett Lee, Mick Lewis, Damien Martyn, Shane Watson, Andrew Symonds.

First Published: Feb 15, 2006 11:41 IST