HT Image
HT Image

Women electorate outnumber men in Kerala

Of an electorate of 21.26 million women voters account for 11.05 million as against 10.21 million men.
None | By Indo-Asian News Service, Thiruvananthapuram
PUBLISHED ON MAR 29, 2006 03:17 PM IST

Though the women electorate in Kerala outnumbers men by a huge margin, this is not reflected in the number of seats given by major political parties to women candidates.

In fact, the tally for next month's assembly elections is down to 26 from 33 in the 2001 polls.

Kerala goes to the polls April 22 and 29 and May 3. Of an electorate of 21.26 million women voters account for 11.05 million as against 10.21 million men.

Of the 140 assembly constituencies in the state, male voters outnumber female in only 14.

Moreover, in nine of the 14 districts in the state, there is not a single assembly constituency where men outnumber women.

The Muslim dominated Malappuram district leads the pack. Of a total electorate of 2,206,753 voters, 1,141,265 are women and 1,065,488 men.

Nilambur Assembly Constituency in Malappuram district, the sitting seat of state electricity minister Aryadan Mohammed, has the largest electorate of 200,704 voters comprising of 105,459 women and 95,245 men.

The hill district of Idukki, which has five assembly seats, is the only district where there are more male voters than female - 396,333 as against 390,678.

Azhikode constituency in Kannur district has the distinction of having the biggest gap between male and female voters. Of the total electorate of 133,015, women voters account for 73,480 while there are 59,535 male voters.

Mattancherry seat represented by state Industries Minister VK Ebrahim Kunju has the least number of voters. It has 91,306 voters with the number of women being 47,014 and the number of men being 44,292.

In the number of seats allocated by the parties, the Bharatiya Janata Party leads with 11 seats followed by Communist Party of India-Marxist with eight, Congress, Democratic Indira Congress-Karunakaran and Communist Party of India two each and Janathiyapathiya Samrakshana Samithi one.

Story Saved