Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 26, 2019-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

IPL 2017: Delhi Daredevils, bunch of underachievers

Delhi Daredevil’s best finishes have come in 2008 and 2009, when they ended as the losing semifinalists

ipl 2017 Updated: Mar 29, 2017 12:23 IST
IPL 2017,Indian Premier League,Delhi Daredevils
Zaheer Khan captained Delhi Daredevils last season. With several promising youngsters in their ranks, DD will have their task cut out in this year’s IPL. (BCCI)

The Delhi Daredevils were bought for 84 million Dollars by GMR in the auction for teams in January, 2008. They were the fifth most expensive team at the auctions. The team made the semifinals in the first two editions with Virender Sehwag as icon player and captain in 2008 and Gautam Gambhir as captain in 2009.

This season, they have a battery of quality all-rounders though they’ve lost a key player in JP Duminy. SA keeper-batsman Quinton de Kock has also pulled out

Main players this season:

Kagiso Rabada: The right-arm pacer was picked for R5 crore in the auctions and has led the South African attack well in the absence of injured Dale Steyn.

Pat Cummins: The injury-prone pacer was picked for R4.5 crore and the franchise owners will be happy after seeing him put a whole-hearted effort in the third Test at Ranchi where he bowled 39 overs and picked four wickets.

Karun Nair: One of the hottest properties in Indian cricket after his triple century against England at Chennai, Nair will be the key in DD batting line-up. The Daredevils had foreseen his utility last year only when they shelled out R4 crore for him when his base price was just R10 lakh. Karun scored over 350 runs with three fifties.

Rishabh Pant: The young wicketkeeper-batsman has been the most recent find for India. He was made the skipper of the Delhi team this season for the Vijay Hazare one-dayers. His aggressive strokeplay will be key. It’ll be interesting who keeps the wickets for DD with QDK also there.

Top honours:

DD’s best finishes have come in 2008 and 2009, when they ended as the losing semifinalists. In 2011, they finished last. They came back to top the league standings in 2012 but couldn’t clear the playoffs, failing to reach the final again. Since 2012, they’ve finished in the lower half.

Complete squad: Zaheer Khan, Pat Cummins, Jayant Yadav, Chris Morris, Pratyush Singh, Sam Billings, Mohammad Shami, Quinton de Kock (doubtful), Shahbaz Nadeem, Carlos Brathwaite, Shreyas Iyer, Angelo Mathews, Sanju Samson, Corey Anderson, Rishabh Pant, Kagiso Rabada, Amit Mishra, Chama Milind, SK Ahmed, Ankeet Bawne, Aditya Tare, M Ashwin, Navdeep Saini, Shashank Singh, Karun Nair.

First Published: Mar 28, 2017 17:35 IST