Why Mumbai Indians have edge vs Rising Pune Supergiant in IPL 2017 final

Mumbai Indians will square off against Rising Pune Supergiant for the fourth time in IPL 2017. No team has ever registered a 4-0 verdict in head-to-head clashes in a season and Rohit Sharma’s side has been on the right side of an IPL final against teams whom they have met more than three times.
Mumbai Indians will face Rising Pune Supergiant in the IPL 2017 final in Hyderabad on Sunday. MI are in their fourth IPL final while RPS are playing their first in two years.(AP)
Mumbai Indians will face Rising Pune Supergiant in the IPL 2017 final in Hyderabad on Sunday. MI are in their fourth IPL final while RPS are playing their first in two years.(AP)
Updated on May 21, 2017 04:23 PM IST
Copy Link
Hyderabad | By Siddharth Vishwanathan

Mumbai Indians have entered the final of IPL 2017 after their commanding six-wicket win over Kolkata Knight Riders in the second qualifier at the M Chinnaswamy stadium in Bangalore on Friday.

Rohit Sharma’s boys have entered the IPL final for the fourth time and they will be aiming to become the first team to win the title three times. However, they will first have to break their losing streak against Steve Smith’s Rising Pune Supergiant, against whom they have lost all three matches in this edition.

READ | IPL 2017 final: Mumbai Indians vs Rising Pune Supergiant - key player battles

Heading into the final, Mumbai Indians hold a queer statistical advantage. This is the third time in IPL history that one team will play each other four times in one edition. Oddly, Mumbai Indians have featured in all three of them. Their first two were against Chennai Super Kings in 2013 and 2015. On both occasions, they won the title and both were held in Kolkata. This time, they will meet Rising Pune Supergiant in the final in Hyderabad.

Mumbai Indians eye repeat of 2013 and 2015

In 2013 IPL, Mumbai Indians defeated Chennai Super Kings by nine runs in their first encounter at Chepauk. In the return leg at the Wankhede stadium, Mumbai Indians won by 60 runs as Chennai Super Kings were bowled out for 79. In the first qualifier, Dhoni’s men had their revenge as they secured a 48-run win but in the final, Mumbai Indians secured the title for the first time by winning by 23 runs. Thus, the head-to-head in the entire season was 3-1 in Mumbai Indians’ favour.

READ | What hit Kolkata Knight Riders vs Mumbai Indians - Karn Sharma explains

In 2015, Chennai Super Kings struck the first blow by beating Rohit Sharma’s team by six wickets at the Wankhede. However, Mumbai Indians came back on level terms with a six-wicket win in Chennai. The 2013 champions secured another win in the first qualifier in Mumbai when they won by 25 runs and continued the winning streak by winning the final in Eden Gardens by 48 runs to secure the title for the second time.

No IPL team has ever won four matches in a single edition against another team. With Rising Pune Supergiant winning the first three, Mumbai Indians will be hoping that the tradition continues on Sunday.

READ | ‘Steve Smith has infused win-or-nothing attitude in Rising Pune Supergiant’

Breaking the Australian jinx

In 10 editions of the Indian Premier League, no team led by an Australian has lost in the final. Rajasthan Royals, captained by Shane Warne, won the inaugural edition in 2008 against Chennai Super Kings while Adam Gilchrist helped Deccan Chargers to victory in IPL 2009. The domination by Australian captains continued in IPL 2016 when David Warner, leading Sunrisers Hyderabad, got the better of Virat Kohli’s Royal Challengers Bangalore. Can Rohit’s Mumbai Indians break the jinx? The answer will come on Sunday.

Close Story
Story Saved
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Monday, October 25, 2021