Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 22, 2019-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

IPL 2017 Review: Kolkata Knight Riders lead but boundaries see marginal dip

IPL 2017 saw a slight dip in the number of fours hit as compared to the last edition. Gautam Gambhir-led Kolkata Knight Riders smashed the most boundaries among the eight teams.

ipl 2017 Updated: May 23, 2017 17:05 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
IPL 2017,Kolkata Knight Riders,David Warner
Kolkata Knight Riders hit the most number of fours among the eight teams in IPL 2017. (BCCI )

The IPL 2017 concluded on Sunday with Mumbai Indians defeating Rising Pune Supergiant by one-run to win the title for a record third time. With this, they’ve now become the most successful team in the history of IPL, surpassing Kolkata Knight Riders and Chennai Super Kings’ two title wins.

(Read | IPL 2017 Review: Mumbai Indians top charts as number of sixes hit sees a rise)

In comparison to IPL 2016, the six count went up from 638 to 705. MI led the charts with most sixes by a team, while Australia’s David Warner and Glenn Maxwell hit the most maximums (26).

Here’s a look at the statistical highlights related to the number of fours hit:

1.5% dip - As many as 1608 fours were hit in the 10th edition while 1633 were smashed last year.

Overall - In this year’s edition, 102 batsmen hit 1608 fours in 118 innings of 59 matches. As many as 103 batsmen hit 1633 fours in 120 innings of 60 matches in 2016.

IPL 2017 saw a slight dip in the number of fours hit as compared to the last edition. ( HT Photo )

Warner reigns supreme – SRH skipper’s 63 fours in 14 innings off as many games was the most by a batsman in IPL 2017.

(Read | Parthiv Patel’s dream season capped off by Mumbai Indians’ IPL 2017 triumph)

KKR lead - Kolkata Knight Riders hit the most fours by a team this year. 14 players hit a total of 227 fours out of 1608.

History - The record of most fours in a single edition was set in 2013 when 125 batsmen hit 2051 fours in 76 matches.

(With inputs from Syed Pervez Qaiser)

First Published: May 23, 2017 17:04 IST