New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Aug 20, 2019-Tuesday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Tuesday, Aug 20, 2019

Lok Sabha election 2019: All about Gujarat’s Panchmahal seat

The BJP has won Panchmahal Lok Sabha seats in the last two parliamentary elections.

lok-sabha-elections Updated: Apr 16, 2019 15:02 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
BJP’s Prabhatsinh Chauhan is the two-time sitting MP from Panchmahal seat in Gujarat.
BJP’s Prabhatsinh Chauhan is the two-time sitting MP from Panchmahal seat in Gujarat.

The Panchmahal Lok Sabha constituency was came into existence in 2008 under the Delimitation of Parliamentary and Assembly Constituencies Order. It is the constituency number 18 in Gujarat and will vote on April 23.

The entire state of Gujarat will vote on April 23 in the third of the seven-phased Lok Sabha polls. The BJP has won both the Lok Sabha polls held at the Panchmahal seat.

Prabhatsinh Chauhan is the two-time sitting MP from Panchmahal. In 2009, Chauhan defeated Shanksinh Vaghela of the Congress while in 2014 Ramsinh Parmar was his rival from the party.

Panchmahal Lok Sabha constituency comprises of seven Gujarat assembly segments. Three of these assembly constituencies went to the BJP in the Gujarat state election in 2017, the Congress won two while Independent candidates secured two seats.

Panchmahal is one of the backward districts of Gujarat and receives development funds from the Centre under the Backward Regions Grant Fund Programme (BRGFP).

Here’s all you need to know about Panchmahal

Name of the constituency: Panchmahal , Gujarat

Date of polling: April 23

2019 candidates: Khant Vechatbhai Kuberbhai (Congress), Ratansinh Magansinh Rathod (BJP)

Sitting MP, Party: Prabhatsinh Pratapsinh Chauhan, BJP

Winning margin in 2014: 1,70,596

Name of runner-up candidate: Ramsinh Parmar , Congress

Total number of voters in 2014: 935,016

Votes polled in 2014 elections: 72 per cent

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1,891

Number of women voters: 4,17,444

First Published: Mar 13, 2019 17:44 IST

more from lok sabha elections