Lok Sabha election 2019: Gujarat’s Kachchh seat to see tough Congress vs BJP contest

Hindustan Times | ByHT Correspondent
Apr 16, 2019 02:49 PM IST

The BJP has retained the Kachchh Lok Sabha seat since 1996.

The Bharatiya Janata Party has dominated the Kachchh Lok Sabha seat in every election since 1996. The Congress had won this seat last time in 1991. Kachchh is one of the 26 Lok Sabha seats in Gujarat, which goes to polls on April 23.

Vinod Chavda is the sitting MP from Kachchh Lok Sabha seat in Gujarat.
Vinod Chavda is the sitting MP from Kachchh Lok Sabha seat in Gujarat.

Kachchh Lok Sabha constituency comprises of seven assembly segments. In the last state election in Gujarat, the Congress had improved its performance over the previous assembly polls snatching two seats from the BJP.

We're now on WhatsApp. Click to join.

The ruling BJP won four assembly segments under Kachchh Lok Sabha seat while the Congress secured three seats. The Congress had won only one assembly seat in Kachchh in 2012 state polls.

Kachchh Lok Sabha seat is reserved for the members of Scheduled Castes. The sitting MP of Kachchh is Vinod Chavda of the BJP who had defeated Dr Dinesh Parmar of the Congress in 2014 with a margin of over 2.5 lakh votes.

Here’s all you need to know about Kachchh

State: Gujarat

Name of constituency: Kachchh

Date of polling: April 23

2019 candidates: Vinod Lakhamshi Chavda (BJP), Naresh Naranbhai Maheshwari (Congress) and Lakhubhai Vaghela (BSP).

Sitting MP, Party: Vinod Lakhamashi Chavda, BJP

Winning margin in 2014: 2,54,482

Name of runner-up candidate: Dr Dinesh Parmar, Congress

Total number of voters in 2014: 9,47,521

Voting percentage in 2014: 76 per cent

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1,835

Number of women voters: 4,25,335

Story Saved
Live Score
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Wednesday, November 29, 2023
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Register Free and get Exciting Deals