Today in New Delhi, India
Jul 22, 2019-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Lok Sabha election 2019: Tough fight expected in Andhra’s Kakinada seat

In the 2014 election, Thota Narasimham of the TDP squeezed through a narrow margin of just over three thousand votes.

lok sabha elections Updated: Apr 11, 2019 09:10 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
Lok Sabha election 2019,Lok Sabha election,General Election
Thota Narasimham of the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) who won the Kakinada Lok Sbha seat in Andhra Pradesh in 2014, joined the YSR Congress party recently but will not contest this time from the constituency.(HT PHOTO)

Kakinada Lok Sabha constituency in East Godavari district of Andhra Pradesh is one of the key parliamentary seats in the state. In 2014, Thota Narasimham of the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) recorded a narrow victory over Sunil Chalamalasetty of the YSR Congress .

Narasimham has since joined the YSRC while Chalamalasetty shifted to the TDP. C Suneel has been nominated by the TDP as its candidate this time while the YSRC has named former Rajya Sabha MP Vanga Geeta as its candidate for Kakinada Lok Sabha seat.

Kakinada was once a Congress stronghold and the party won the seat between 1957 and 1980. Its winning run was broken by the TDP which won it in 1984 when it debuted. Since 1984, the TDP won the seat five times but Narasimham’s victory in 2014 was one of the narrowest with a margin of 3,431 votes.

The BJP which has a weak presence in Andhra Pradesh, won the seat once in 1998.

As per the 2011 census, out of a total population of 1936809, 65.78% is rural and 34.22% is urban population. The Scheduled castes (SC) and Scheduled tribes (ST) ratio is 15.43 and 1.67, respectively out of total population.

Kakinada Lok Sabha constituency in numbers:

Name of the Lok Sabha constituency: Kakinada

Date of voting : April 11

2019 candidates: Yalla Venkata Ramamohana Rao (BJP), MM Pallam Raju (Congress), Vanga Geetha (YSRCP), Chalamalasetti Sunil (TDP)

Sitting MP, Party: Thota Narasimham, TDP

Winning margin in 2014: 3,431 votes

Runner up name, party: Sunil Chalamalasetty, YSRC

Number of voters in 2014: 1,418,290

Percentage of votes polled in 2014: 78

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1491

Number of women voters: 709,189

First Published: Mar 19, 2019 19:35 IST

Get the latest news and live updates for Lok Sabha Elections 2019, seat stats, constituency and election news on Follow us on FB and Twitter to get the fastest updates on election results 2019, party-wise votes stats, wins and leads, vote share of parties and many more interesting election facts.
more from lok sabha elections