New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Oct 22, 2019-Tuesday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Tuesday, Oct 22, 2019

AAP names its 3 Haryana candidates

Rai said the Congress was giving an impression that the AAP refused to form an alliance.

lok-sabha-elections Updated: Apr 22, 2019 03:08 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
New Delhi
The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) on Sunday declared candidates for three seats in Haryana for the Lok Sabha elections.
The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) on Sunday declared candidates for three seats in Haryana for the Lok Sabha elections.(Biplov Bhuyan/HT File PHOTO)

Having almost given up on the possibility of an alliance with the Congress, the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) on Sunday named three candidates from Haryana and said six of their candidates from Delhi would be filing their nominations on Monday.

While the West Delhi candidate from the party, Balbir Jhakkhar, had already filed his nomination on Thursday, the party had postponed its scheduled date for filing nominations for the other candidates, to give the Congress some more time to decide on an alliance.

“As far as an alliance with the Congress is concerned, it is clear that they are not ready for any tie-up. We postponed our candidates’ nominations for them, but now all six of them, except the West Delhi candidate who has already filed his nomination, will be filing their nominations at the chief electoral officer’s office tomorrow (Monday),” Rai said.

“We will also launch a ‘Pol-Khol Abhiyan’ against the Congress,” he said

He further said, “In Haryana, we have allied with the JJP to defeat the BJP. In Delhi, we can do it on our own.”

In Haryana, the AAP and its ally Jannayak Janata Party (JJP) will be contesting from all 10 Lok Sabha seats—the JJP will contest in seven and the AAP in three. So far, the JJP has announced the names of candidates who will contest four of the seven seats and the AAP has named candidates who will contest all three.

From the Faridabad seat, the AAP will field its Haryana in-charge Naveen Jaihind, Prithvi Raj from Ambala and Krishna Kumar Agarwal from Karnal. While Jaihind is a popular student leader who was active in the India Against Corruption Movement in 2011, Raj is a retired Indian Police Service officer and Agarwal is a lawyer in the Ambala district court, Rai said on Sunday.

Rai said the Congress was giving an impression that the AAP refused to form an alliance.

“But the fact is whichever seat sharing formula the Congress proposed we agreed to it in Haryana, Delhi and Chandigarh and even then they backtracked,” he said.

Both Haryana and Delhi go to the polls in a single phase on May 12. While Delhi has seven Lok Sabha seats, all of them currently ruled by the BJP, Haryana has 10.

Of the 10 seats in Haryana, the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) had won seven seats in the 2014 general elections, the Congress had
won one, and the Indian National Lok Dal (INLD), of which the JJP is a breakaway faction, had won two.

Delhi deputy chief minister Manish Sisodia had said on Saturday that the Congress first proposed 6:3:1 seat sharing formula to the AAP in Haryana where six seats would be for the Congress, three for the JJP and one seat for the AAP.

“Our decision to form an alliance with the Congress was to stop the Modi-Shah duo,” he said.

“The Congress has zero presence in Delhi even then they want nearly half of the seats. With that logic, the Congress should form an alliance in Punjab and Haryana too. We have 20 MLAs and four MPs in Punjab then why can’t an alliance be formed with us,” Sisodia asked on Saturday.

First Published: Apr 21, 2019 15:04 IST

top news