Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Alappuzha, Kerala - Hindustan Times

Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Alappuzha, Kerala

Hindustan Times, New Delhi | ByHT Correspondent
Apr 18, 2019 11:18 AM IST

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 constituency watch of Alappuzha, Kerala.

Alappuzha is one of the 20 Lok Sabha constituencies of Kerala.

An election official checks an EVM at a counting centre.(AFP photo)
An election official checks an EVM at a counting centre.(AFP photo)

The nearly 100-km-long constituency, spread across six assembly segments and one in Kollam district, is home to a cross section of fishermen in the state.

Hindustan Times - your fastest source for breaking news! Read now.

Known as Ambalapuzha till 1962, Alappuzha was the cradle of the communist movement in the state and has held a pride of place in state politics since pre Independence.

Known to be the home to many communist leaders, Alappuzha, despite having a strong Left presence, has not voted for it as many times as the party would have liked it to. In the 13 Lok Sabha elections that the constituency has seen, the Left Democratic Front (LDF) has been voted in only four times.

This time around, the CPI(M) has fielded AM Arif from the constituency.

Read: All you need to know about Kerala

Congress’s KC Venugopal was elected as the constituency MP both in 2009 and in 2014. In 2014, Venugopal had defeated his closest competitor, CPI(M)’s CB Chandrababu by a margin of 19,400 votes.

Despite its strong presence, the constituency has not been a happy hunting ground for the Left movement in LS polls. In the past 13 general elections, only four times have the LDF won from the constituency.

The general elections will be held across India in seven phases beginning April 11 and the counting of votes will take place on May 23.

Here’s all you need to know about the Alappuzha Lok Sabha constituency:

State: Kerala

Name of the Lok Sabha constituency: Alappuzha

Date of voting: April 23

2019 candidates: Shanimol Osman (Congress), AM Ariff (CPI-Marxist), Prasanthbhim (BSP), Dr. KS Radhakrishnan (BJP)

Sitting MP, Party: KC Venugopal, Congress

Winning margin in 2014: 19,407

Runner up name, party: CB Chandrababu, CPI(M)

Number of voters in 2014: 998,656

Percentage of votes polled in 2014: 77

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1,130

Number of women voters: 5,19,579

Share this article
Story Saved
Live Score
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Wednesday, February 28, 2024
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Follow Us On