Today in New Delhi, India
May 24, 2019-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Lok Sabha Elections 2019: BJP Bengal chief takes on TMC veteran in Medinipur

Dilip Ghosh, BJP’s Bengal unit chief, alleged that TMC workers attempted to rig polls in booths in Dantan and Keshiyari during the sixth phase of Lok Sabha elections on May 12.

lok sabha elections Updated: May 13, 2019 09:37 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, Kolkata
TMC,Dilip Ghosh,BJP
BJP West Bengal President Dilip Ghosh alleged that TMC workers attempted to rig polls in booths in Dantan and Keshiyari.(Samir Jana/HT PHOTO)

One of the eight constituencies in West Bengal that went to the polls on Sunday during the sixth phase of the Lok Sabha elections, Medinipur saw a turnout of 81.09%, according to the Voter Turnout app of the Election Commission of India. The seat saw a battle between two heavyweights — Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)’s state unit chief Dilip Ghosh and Trinamool Congress (TMC)’s Manas Bhuniya.

In 2014, TMC won the seat with a margin of 186,000 votes, but BJP’s increasing support in various pockets of the constituency and the candidature of Ghosh — arguably the most popular BJP leader in the state — has made political analysts expect a photo finish.

Of the 1,930 polling stations, reports of trouble and tension came from only about a dozen. Ghosh, an MLA, alleged that TMC workers attempted to rig polls in booths in Dantan and Keshiyari. TMC workers surrounded Ghosh’s car at Dantan. However, tension was averted as personnel from the Quick Response Teams of the security forces reached promptly.

Four TMC workers were injured in clashes that took place with BJP party workers in two separate incidents at Narayangarh area.

Also Read | Clashes leave 26 injured, TMC and BJP locked in war of words

Also Read | Lok Sabha elections 2019 Phase 6: Delhi voter turnout among lowest in seven states after 8 hours of polling

First Published: May 13, 2019 09:37 IST

Get the latest news and live updates for Lok Sabha Elections 2019, seat stats, constituency and election news on Follow us on FB and Twitter to get the fastest updates on election results 2019, party-wise votes stats, wins and leads, vote share of parties and many more interesting election facts.