New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Aug 24, 2019-Saturday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Saturday, Aug 24, 2019

Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Kannur, Kerala

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 constituency watch of Kannur, Kerala.

constituency-watch Updated: Apr 19, 2019 18:31 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
Polling officers attend a training programme on how to use EVM with Voter Verifiable Paper Audit Trail (VVPAT) machine.
Polling officers attend a training programme on how to use EVM with Voter Verifiable Paper Audit Trail (VVPAT) machine.(Diwakar Prasad/ HT Photo)

Kannur is one of the 20 Lok Sabha constituencies of Kerala. Kannur district’s administrative headquarters are in Kannur town.

Kannur, known as Cannanore constituency, was formed as a Lok Sabha constituency in 1977. Though it is considered a CPM fortress, neither the CPM nor the LDF has been able to enjoy a full monopoly in the Lok Sabha seat over the UDF. If anything, the constituency has elected the Congress candidate more times than the CPM candidate.

Read: All you need to know about Kerala

In the 2014 elections, the Kannur Lok Sabha constituency had elected CPM’s PK Sreemathi Teacher as its nominee to the Lok Sabha over Congress’s K Sudhakaran. Sreemathi won the election with a narrow margin of barely 6,566 votes.

The general elections will be held across India in seven phases beginning April 11 and the counting of votes will take place on May 23.

Here’s all you need to know about the Kannur Lok Sabha constituency:

State: Kerala

Name of the Lok Sabha constituency: Kannur

Contesting candidates: CK Padmanabhan (BJP), PK Sreemathi Teacher (CPI-M) and K Sudhakaran (Congress)

Date of polling: April 23

Sitting MP, Party: PK Srieemathi, CPI(M)

Winning margin in 2014: 6,566

Runner up name, party: K Sudhakaran, INC

Number of voters in 2014: 948,572

Percentage of votes polled in 2014: 72

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1,002

Number of women voters: 507,560

First Published: Mar 14, 2019 09:57 IST

more from constituency watch