Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Kozhikode, Kerala

Updated on Apr 20, 2019 05:51 PM IST

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 constituency watch of Kozhikode, Kerala.

An election official tallies the names of candidates.(Arijit Sen/HT Photo)
An election official tallies the names of candidates.(Arijit Sen/HT Photo)
Hindustan Times, New Delhi | ByHT Correspondent

Kozhikode is one of the 20 Lok Sabha constituencies of Kerala. Mostly a Congress stronghold, Kozhikode has also swung towards CPI(M) and Janata Dal.

In the 2009 and the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, Congress’s MK Raghavan has won from the seat.

While Congress’s sitting MP Raghavan is looking to pull off a hattrick with the upcoming elections, the CPI is looking to wrest the constituency and has fielded Kozhikode North MLA A Pradeepkumar. Both Raghavan and Pradeepkumar are likely to set up a tough fight for each other considering that both of them are equally popular and both are known for the development projects undertaken by them in their respective constituencies.

Read: All you need to know about Kerala

The general elections will be held across India in seven phases beginning April 11 and the counting of votes will take place on May 23.

Here’s all you need to know about the Kozhikode Lok Sabha constituency:

State: Kerala

Name of the Lok Sabha constituency: Kozhikode

Contesting Candidates: M.K. Raghavan (Congress), A.Pradeep Kumar (CPI-M), Raghu.K (BSP)

Date of poll: April 23

Sitting MP, Party: MK Raghavan, INC

Winning margin in 2014: 16,883

Runner up name, party: A.Vijayaraghavan, CPI(M)

Number of voters in 2014: 943,227

Percentage of votes polled in 2014: 76

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1,003

Number of women voters: 485,461

Story Saved
Saved Articles
My Reads
My Offers
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Tuesday, December 06, 2022
Start 15 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Register Free and get Exciting Deals