Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 15, 2019-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Ponnani, Kerala

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 constituency watch of Ponnani, Kerala.

constituency watch Updated: Mar 15, 2019 14:16 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
Ponnani Lok Sabha 2019 Constituency Details,Ponnani Profile,Kerala Ponnani General Elections 2019
An election commission official gives a demonstration of how to use an EVM.(Rahul Raut/HT PHOTO)

Ponnani is one of the 20 Lok Sabha constituencies in Kerala.

A pivotal votebank of the Indian Union Muslim League (IUML), the party has represented the Ponnani Lok Sabha constituency continuously since 1977.

In the 2014 Lok Sabha election, the IUML once again won from the constituency with its candidate ET Mohammed Basheer defeating his closest contestant Independent candidate V Abdurahman by more than 25,000 votes.

Read: All you need to know about Kerala

The general elections will be held across India in seven phases beginning April 11 and the counting of votes will take place on May 23.

Here’s all you need to know about the Ponnani Lok Sabha constituency:

State: Kerala

Name of the Lok Sabha constituency: Ponnani

Sitting MP, Party: ET Mohammed Basheer, IUML

Winning margin in 2014: 25,410

Runner up name, party: V.Abdurahman, Independent

Number of voters in 2014: 871,595

Percentage of votes polled in 2014: 51

Number of polling booths in 2014: 948

Number of women voters: 466,476

First Published: Mar 15, 2019 14:16 IST