Pune’s St Vincent’s, JN Petit enter inter-school football semis

Artharva Lonkar’s solitary goal in the 18th minute was the match winner for JN Petit

pune Updated: Aug 05, 2017 14:12 IST
Hindustan Times, Pune
football tournament,Subrato Mukherjee Cup,inter school
Players of Millennium National school, (yellow) & Vikhe Patil Memorial School (white) in action during the football match at SSPM college ground in Pune on Friday.(Rahul Raut/HT PHOTO)

St Vincent’s School and JN Petit edged out their opponents Bishops School, Kalyaninagar and Millennium National School to enter the semifinals of the under-17 Subrato Mukherjee Cup inter-school football tournament organised by Pune Municipal Corporation and the District sports council on Friday.

At the SSMPS ground, both schools scored a 1-0 win. For St Vincent’s School, it was Lakshya Harpalani’s goal in the 20th minute while Artharva Lonkar’s solitary goal in the 18th minute was the match winner for JN Petit.

In other two matches, Vidyabhavan High School defeated the Orchid School, Baner 2-0 while the Bishops School, Camp prevailed over Gurukul High School with a similar score. For Bishops, Pranav Jagannath scored a brace in the 8th and 17th minute.

Earlier, it was Prasanna Jain of the Orchid School, Baner, who stole the limelight. The lanky striker scored four goals including a hat-trick in their 5-0 win over Bhartiya Vidya Bhawan School. Prasanna’s first goal came in the 2nd minute and further added another two minutes later. In the seventh minute, the school was leading 3-0 Prasanna scored another goal. To continue the onslaught, he scored another in the 11th minute and later in the 23rd minute, Neerav Pillay also found the back of the net.

In another one-sided match, Delhi Public School, Mohammadwadi registered a 4-0 win over the Ornellas High School. Kartikeya Srivastav scored a brace (16’ and 21’) while Shaun Fizo (2’) and Alan Binoy (10’) added a goal each.

Meanwhile, Loyola school, known for their domination in inter-school football, were knocked out by the Millennium National School through a tie breaker. After both teams were locked in a goalless draw, the match headed for a penalty shootout. From Millennium, Viren Lalwani, Yash Desai, Aditya Gujarati and Shirish Inamdar scored while Loyola’s Nishchal Kumar, Neeraj Gawali and Suryan Ghadge converted their chances. Utsav Patni and Utsav Goyal missed their chances.

First Published: Aug 05, 2017 14:12 IST