Today in New Delhi, India
Nov 17, 2019-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Rajasthan election results Highlights: Congress to announce next CM tomorrow

Congress Legislature Party (CLP) meeting has begun to decide the next CM candidate. Several independent MLAs are attending the meeting.

By HT Correspondent | Dec 13, 2018 12:20 IST

Congress got a significant boost in the Rajasthan after BSP chief Mayawati on Wednesday announced that she will extend her party support to Congress in forming the next government, if needed. In the assembly elections results announced on December 11, Congress has emerged as single largest party, ousting BJP in Rajasthan and Chattisgarh and emerged as the single largest party in Madhya Pradesh.

In the Rajasthan assembly elections, Congress won 99 seats out of 199 while BJP secured 73 seats. BSP and others won 6 and 20 seats, respectively.

The results of assembly elections in five states are crucial for the BJP-led NDA government as it opens the gate for the 2019 Lok Sabha polls.

Congress Legislature Party (CLP) meeting began at the party’s state headquarters here on Wednesday to discuss the name of the next Rajasthan chief minister.The final decision will be taken by Rahul Gandhi based on the feedback.The name of the chief minister will be announced in the evening.


Follow live updates here:

10:00 pm IST

After observers’ feedback, Cong chief will take final call: Sachin Pilot

“It’s a normal procedure for Congress party legislators to give their feedback to observers. Observers give feedback to Congress president and then a final decision is taken. We’ve authorised Congress Pres to take a final view as to who will head CLP leaders of the party,” said Sachin Pilot.

7:37 pm IST

Congress to decide on CM tomorrow

Congress will decide on Rajasthan’s CM tomorrow.

7:35 pm IST

Ashok Gehlot, Sachin Pilot reach Governor’s House

Ashok Gehlot, Sachin Pilot and other Congress leaders arrive at the Governor’s House in Jaipur.

7:30 pm IST

Congress MLAs leave for Governor’s House

Congress leaders leave for Governor House.

7:00 pm IST

Heavy security outside party office

6:40 pm IST

Supporters of Gehlot, Pilot raise slogans

Extremely charged atmosphere outside and inside congress office in Jaipur. Police deployed to manage crowd. Supporters of Gehlot and Pilot raising loud slogans.

4:40 pm IST

Pilot, Gehlot meet at party office

State Congress president Sachin Pilot and former CM Ashok Gehlot meet with newly elected legislatures at party office in Jaipur.

State Congress president Sachin Pilot and former CM ashok gehlot in conversation at the meeting of newly elected legislatures at party office, in Jaipur. ( Himanshu Vyas/HT Photo )
12:20 am IST

Independent MLA Thanagazi at Gehlot’s residence

Independent MLA from Thanagazi Kantilal at Ashok Gehlot’s residence.

09:12 am IST

Meena to support only if Gehlot becomes CM

Independent MLA Ramkesh Meena from Gangapur says that he will give support to Congress party only if Ashok Gehlot becomes chief minister

09:11 am IST

Independent MLA Meena at Gehlot’s residence

Independent MLA Ramkesh Meena from Gangapur city also reaches Gehlot residence

09:10 am IST

MLAs meet at Gehlot’s residence

MLA Vinod Kumar Lilawat, MLA Manju Meghwal and Mahendra Choudhary at Gehlot’s residence.MLA from Neem Ka Thaana was the first to come to meet Pilot at his residence today morning