Today in New Delhi, India
Oct 18, 2018-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Champions Trophy: India to take on Pakistan in opener

sports Updated: Jun 02, 2016 09:29 IST

LONDON: Defending champion India will take on Pakistan in its opening match at next year’s Champions Trophy.

The ICC has announced that the tournament will run from June 1-18 with Edgbaston, Cardiff and The Oval hosting all 15 matches.

Australia, which won the event in 2006 and 2009, is in Group A with New Zealand, England and Bangladesh, while India, Pakistan, South Africa and Sri Lanka are in Group B.

The top eight teams in the ICC ODI rankings until Sept. 30, 2015, have qualified for the tournament with world champion Australia seeded No. 1.

ICC chief executive David Richardson says the Champions Trophy “carries a great deal of value since it is being played just three months before the World Cup 2019 qualification cut-off date.”

First Published: Jun 02, 2016 09:29 IST