E-Pathshala project launched at 10 Chandigarh government schools

  • Aneesha Bedi, Hindustan Times, Chandigarh
  • Updated: Jul 19, 2016 14:33 IST
The teachers of these 10 schools, who were trained in May, are in the process of passing the same to students.

The UT education department has launched a digital learning programme in which NCERT books will be taught on mobile phones and tabs. The programme has been launched as a pilot project of e-Pathshala in 10 government schools and will be gradually extended to other schools.

The teachers of these 10 schools, who were trained in May, are in the process of passing the same to students.

Director school education Rubinderjit Singh Brar confirmed the initiation of e-Pathshala project. He said, “We have been given funds for ten schools under SSA (Sarva Shiksha Abhiyan) and we have trained staff from these schools, but we will replicate this in all government schools during this academic session.”

Sources said that e-Pathshala project is a joint initiative of Union ministry of human resource development (MHRD) and National Council of Educational Research and Training (NCERT).

After downloading the application, students can access all educational e-resources, including textbooks, audio, video, periodicals and a variety of other print and non-print materials.

Not only the students but teachers, educators and parents can also access e-books through multiple technology platform, which include mobile phones, tablets and laptops and desktops (as flipbooks).

The government wishes to provide convenient access to poor children by implementing the project through the schools. Thirty teachers from 10 schools were trained on May 20 and 21 at Government Model Senior Secondary School, Sector 19.

How will it work?

The department has given eight tabs to each of these 10 schools. Trained teachers have begun teaching as well as training NCERT curriculum in their school through the tabs. The cost of each tab is `11,000.

A senior official of the education department said the project will benefit underprivileged students.

The students will be taught and trained in groups of six students each.

The schools include:

1) GMSSS- 37-B

2) GMSSS- 44

3) GMSSS- Raipur Khurd

4) GMSSS- Behlana

5) GMHS- 7-C

6) GMHS- 41

7) GMHS- 45-C

8) GMHS- Dhanas

9) GMHS- Manimajra

10) GHS- 54

also read

Councillor’s report card: Heera Negi tried, but failed to stir officials up
Show comments