Punjab notifies gazetted, restricted holidays for 2016

  • HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times, Chandigarh
  • Updated: Dec 15, 2015 20:41 IST
The Punjab government on Tuesday released a list of 34 gazetted holidays and 18 restricted holidays for 2016. (HT Photo)

The Punjab government on Tuesday released a list of 34 gazetted holidays and 18 restricted holidays for 2016.

An official spokesman said government offices would remain closed for gazetted holidays on the following days: January 16 (Gurpurab of Guru Gobind Singh), January 26 (Republic Day), February 12 (Basant Panchami/birth anniversary of Satguru Ram Singh), February 22 (birth anniversary of Guru Ravidass), March 7 (Shivratri), March 23 (Bhagat Singh’s martyrdom day), March 24 (Holi), March 25 (Good Friday), April 13 (Baisakhi), April 14 (birth anniversary of Dr BR Ambedkar), April 15 (Ram Navami), April 20 (Mahavir Jayanti), May 1 (May Day), May 9 (Parshuram Jayanti), June 8 (martyrdom day of Guru Arjan Dev), June 20 (Kabir Jayanti), July 6 (Id-ul-Fitr), July 31 (martyrdom day of Shaheed Udham Singh), August 15 (Independence Day), August 25 (Janmashtami), September 2 (Parkash Utsav of Guru Granth Sahib), September 10 (birth anniversary of Baba Sri Chand), September 12 (Id-ul-Zuha), September 28 (birth anniversary of Bhagat Singh), October 1 (Agarsain Jayanti), October 2 (Gandhi Jayanti), October 11 (Dussehra), October 16 (birth anniversary of Maharishi Valmiki), October 17 (Gurpurab of Sri Guru Ram Dass), October 30 (Diwali), October 31 (Vishwakarma Day), November 14 (Gurpurab of Guru Nanak), December 4 (martyrdom day of Guru Teg Bahadur) and December 25 (Christmas).

The restricted holidays are the following: January 1 (New Year’s Day), January 13 (Lohri), February 7 (Nirwan Diwas of Bhagwan Adinath), March 8 (International Women’s Day), March 24 (Hola Mohalla), May 21 (Buddh Purnima), June 16 (Nirjala Ekadashi), death anniversary of June 29 (Maharaja Ranjit Singh), September 5 (birth anniversary of Baba Jiwan Singh), September 15 (Anant Chaturdashi), October 12 (Muharram), October 16 (birth anniversary of Baba Banda Singh Bahadur), October 19 (Karva Chauth), October 26 (birth anniversary of Sant Nam Dev), October 31 (Goverdhan Pooja), November 1 (New Punjab Day), December 13 (birth anniversary of Prophet Mohammad), December 25, 26 and 27 (Fatehgarh Sahib Jor Mela).

In addition to the above holidays, each employee would be permitted to avail any four second half-day holidays to join the nagar kirtan and shobha yatras as per a list of religious occasions.

On the occasion of Raksha Bandhan (August 18), all offices of the state government would open at 11am.

also read

Ink attack on Saini: Jats protest over action against accused
Show comments