Today in New Delhi, India
Nov 21, 2018-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Modi, 9 ministers get strike rate of 100% in UP, Manoj Sinha worst performer

Prime Minister Narendra Modi and nine of his Union ministers ensured BJP won all the Assembly seats in their respective Lok Sabha constituencies.

assembly elections Updated: Mar 12, 2017 12:52 IST
Kumar Uttam
Kumar Uttam
Hindsutan Times, New Delhi
Narendra Modi,PM Modi,Varanasi
BJP workers celebrate the party's win in the assembly elections in Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s Lok Sabha constituency, Varanasi, on Saturday.(PTI)

Prime Minister Narendra Modi and nine of his Union ministers had a hundred per cent strike rate in terms of ensuring the BJP’s MLA candidates’ win in their respective Lok Sabha constituencies in Uttar Pradesh.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi represents the temple town of Varanasi in Lok Sabha. BJP and its ally Apna Dal won all the five assembly segments there.

Of the 14 Union ministers from UP in Lok Sabha, the BJP didn’t lose any assembly seat in the constituencies of Cabinet ministers Rajnath Singh, Maneka Gandhi, Uma Bharti, and ministers of state Mahendra Nath Pandey, Mahesh Sharma, Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti, Sanjeev Kumar Balyan, Santosh Gangwar and Anupriya Patel.

Rajnath is a Lok Sabha MP from Lucknow, Gandhi from Pilibhit, Bharti from Jhansi. Mahesh Sharma is Gautam Buddha Nagar MP, Pandey from Chandauli, Sadhvi from Fatehpur, Balyan Muzaffarnagar and Gangwar Bareilly.

Anupriya Patel is an MP from Mirzapur and belongs to Apna Dal.

MSME minister Kalraj Mishra and junior MEA minister Gen VK Singh clocked a strike rate of 80% by winning four out of five seats in their parliamentary constituency, Deoria and Ghaziabad respectively.

Junior minister in the women and child development ministry, Krishna Raj, won five out of six seats in her Shahjahanpur parliamentary constituency—a strike rate of 83.3%.

Telecom minister Manoj Sinha, considered a probable for the chief minister’s post, had a mixed fortune. The BJP could win just 3 out of 5 seats in his parliamentary seat, Ghazipur, despite a Modi wave.

For our full coverage of assembly election results, click here

First Published: Mar 11, 2017 20:47 IST