K'taka election result: Congress president’s son Priyank Kharge retains seat | Bengaluru - Hindustan Times

Karnataka election result: Congress president’s son Priyank Kharge retains Chittapur seat for third time

May 13, 2023 12:24 PM IST

Priyank Kharge and the Bharatiya Janata Party's Manikanta Rathod are the two main contenders in Chittapur.

Congress President Mallikarjun Kharge's son Priyank retained his Chittapur seat for the third time, the data showed amid as the counting of votes for the Karnataka Assembly election of 2023 is underway. Kharge defeated the Bharatiya Janata Party's Manikanta Rathod by over 13,000 votes. In the final results, Kharge managed nearly 53 per cent of the votes and his BJP rival secured approximately 44 per cent. (Track LIVE Karnataka election updates here.)

Congress leader Priyank Kharge.(HT_PRINT)
Congress leader Priyank Kharge.(HT_PRINT)

Also in the fray in Chittapur was Subhaschandra Rathod of the Janata Dal (Secular) who managed less than 1,000 votes.

Also Read| Karnataka assembly election 2023: Constituency-wise full list of winning candidates from BJP, Cong, JDS

Overall, the Congress has marched past the halfway mark in the 224-member Assembly and images and party workers celebrating at various offices across the country have gone viral.

The Congress needs 113 seats to claim a majority and form the next government. It has won four seats so far.

Trends so far have surpasssed exit polls that predicted a tight race between the Congress and the BJP. A win for the former party would be a morale-booster after defeats in Tripura, Meghalaya and Nagaland this year. For the BJP it is a potentially big setback ahead of polls in Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, Telangana and Madhya Pradesh later this year and, of course, the 2024 Lok Sabha election.

Catch every big hit, every wicket with Crickit, a one stop destination for Live Scores, Match Stats, Infographics & much more. Explore now!

Stay updated Karnataka Election Results 2024 and with all the Breaking News and Latest News from Bengaluru. Click here for comprehensive coverage of top cities including Delhi, Mumbai, Hyderabad, and more across India . Stay informed on the latest happenings in World News.
Story Saved
Live Score
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Monday, July 22, 2024
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Follow Us On