BCCI appoints 5-member selection panel, defies Lodha Committee recommendation | cricket | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Aug 20, 2018-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

BCCI appoints 5-member selection panel, defies Lodha Committee recommendation

MSK Prasad has succeeded Sandeep Patil as the chairman of the senior selection panel; Ajay Shirke was unanimously elected BCCI secretary.

cricket Updated: Sep 21, 2016 18:32 IST
Harit N Joshi
Harit N Joshi
Hindustan Times
BCCI,Anurag Thakur,MSK Prasad
Anurag Thakur, president of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), leaves the 87th annual general meeting in Mumbai on Wednesday.(AFP)

Former India wicket-keeper MSK Prasad has succeeded Sandeep Patil as the chairman of the senior selection committee. Prasad, who was Patil’s co-selector, was appointed head of the panel at the BCCI’s Annual General Meeting (AGM) here on Wednesday.

Patil, Vikram Rathour and Saba Karim’s four-year tenures ended and they were replaced by Sarandeep Singh, Jatin Paranjpe and Devang Gandhi in the senior selection committee. Former Rajasthan batsman Gagan Khoda is the fifth member.

This, however, is not in sync with the Justice RM Lodha Committee recommendations, which specifically states that the senior selection committee can only have three members, and they must be former Test players. BCCI has carried on with its conventional five-member panel.

The Lodha Committee recommendations further state that the picking the selection panel based on zones has to be done away with.

Read| BCCI says it won’t flout Lodha committee recommendations

Incidentally, the new members added were from those zones left vacant after Patil (West) Rathour (North) and Saba Karim (East) completed their terms. Prasad has played his cricket from South, Sarandeep from North, Paranjpe from West, Gandhi from East and Khoda from Central.

The BCCI, however, said the selection panel was picked after a transparent process of inviting applications and holding interviews for the first time. But it’s been a long time since someone as low profile as Prasad, the former wicketkeeper who has played just six Tests, has been named chairman of the senior selection committee. In fact, the entire five-member panel has a combined experience of just 13 Tests. And Paranjpe and Khoda have not played a Test.

The first team the new selection committee will pick is the one that will face the visiting England in November.

The Lodha recommendations also state that the BCCI AGM could only take stock of the year gone by and cannot take decisions for the future. So, this could be viewed by the Supreme Court as contempt and the new selection panel could be quashed for not following the Lodha Committee recommendations.

In other decisions, former India pacer Venkatesh Prasad will continue as the junior selection panel chief. Aashish Kapoor and Amit Sharma have been drafted into the junior selection panel.

More| BCCI files plea against Lodha recommendations, says CJI is ‘prejudiced’

Ajay Shirke was unanimously elected BCCI secretary. He was appointed in May when Anurag Thakur became the president of the Board.

Thakur will continue to remain BCCI’s representative at the ICC and Asian Cricket Council.

Mumbai Cricket Association vice-president Ashish Shelar was appointed marketing committee chief.

A senior BCCI official maintained that no new appointments were made. “We have only filled up the vacant posts where their tenures were coming to an end. We have not violated anything. Everything was conducted within the law,” he said.

The BCCI, in a statement said a resolution was passed in the meeting justifying the decisions taken.

It said: “The 87th AGM of the BCCI is being held today and the proceedings are being conducted for the compliance of statutory provisions under which the BCCI is constituted and also for ensuring that the day-to-day operations of the BCCI are not hampered, particularly in view of the ongoing major national and international tournaments, commitments, and is subject to the orders of the Hon’ble Supreme Court.”

First Published: Sep 21, 2016 15:30 IST