Bhuvneshwar Kumar turns 28; VVS Laxman, Sachin Tendulkar lead Twitter wishes

Bhuvneshwar Kumar celebrated his 28th birthday on Monday and stalwarts like Sachin Tendulkar and VVS Laxman wished the Indian cricket team pacer on the occasion.

cricket Updated: Feb 05, 2018 17:22 IST
Devarchit Varma
Devarchit Varma
Hindustan Times, Mumbai
Bhuvneshwar Kumar,Bhuvneshwar Kumar Birthday,Sachin Tendulkar
Bhuvneshwar Kumar received wishes from Sachin Tendulkar, VVS Laxman and Rashid Khan on his birthday.(AFP0)

Wishes poured in on Monday for ace Indian cricket team bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar, as several of his teammates as well as former cricketers like Sachin Tendulkar, VVS Laxman and Harbhajan Singh heaped praise on him and conveyed their messages on social media.

READ | Jasprit Bumrah, Harmanpreet Kaur in Forbes India 30 Under 30 list

The right-arm bowler who has been one of India’s most successful bowler in recent times turned 28 on Monday. Recently, his all-round skills gave India a fighting chance in the first Test of their three-match series in South Africa, following which he was controversially dropped for the second Test.

Praising his all-round talent, legendary cricketer Sachin Tendulkar wrote, “Give him the ball and he will get wickets, give him the bat and he will contribute runs. Wishing one of the most dependable performers in the Indian Cricket team, @BhuviOfficial, a very happy birthday!”

READ | Indian U-19 Cricket World Cup team returns to heroes welcome

VVS Laxman, who has remained in awe of Bhuvneshwar Kumar’s skills both for India as well as their Indian Premier League (IPL) franchise Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) said, “Happy Birthday to a Cricketer who impresses me every time he takes the field.” (sic)

Veteran spinner Harbhajan Singh wished many more wickets for the right-arm seamer while Suresh Raina was also among those who wished Bhuvneshwar on his birthday.

Having made his international debut in 2012, Bhuvneshwar Kumar has so far played 21 Tests, 83 ODIs and 23 T20Is for India, claiming 63, 90 and 21 wickets respectively.


First Published: Feb 05, 2018 16:28 IST