Today in New Delhi, India
Oct 24, 2018-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

India-Bangladesh Asia Cup final Live: Mahmudullah takes hosts to 120/5

Indian T20 captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss and opted to bowl first in the final of the Asia Cup T20 in Dhaka on Sunday.

cricket Updated: Mar 06, 2016 22:32 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
India vs Bangladesh Asia Cup T20 final,MS Dhoni,Mashrafe Mortaza
India’s Ashish Nehra delivers a ball during the match between India and Pakistan at the Asia Cup T20 tournament at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka on February 27, 2016.(AFP Photo)


Over 15: Tidy last over from Bumrah. 8 off it. So India need to chase 121 to win.

(For second innings highlights, click here)

Over 14: Big over for the hosts. 20 off Pandya. 112/5

Over 13: Useful runs in that Nehra over. 14 off it. 92/5

Over 12: Two big wickets and 7 runs off that Jadeja over. 78/5

11.3 Jadeja to Mushfiqur Rahim, 1 run, OUT

Driven off the pads through midwicket, Mushfiqur hares back for the second and dives to make his ground, Dhoni collects and breaks the stumps but it looks like Mushfiqur’s bat is in the air! His bat was well over the crease but because of his dive the bat angled upwards and was in the air when Dhoni took off the bails. Kohli was the fielder at deep midwicket

Over 11: Just 3 off that Pandya over. 71/3

Over 10: 4 runs and the wicket of Shakib al Hasan from Ashwin. 68/3

9.1 Ashwin to Shakib Al Hasan, OUT

Caught at short fine leg! Shakib moved outside leg and got down low to slog sweep off the front foot, Ashwin followed him to cramp him for room and the ball flew off the top edge straight to Bumrah for a straightforward catch

Over 9: 6 off Jadeja. 64/2

Over 8: Two boundaries in that Pandya over. 58/2

Over 7: Two boundaries in that Jadeja over. 47/2

Over 6: 5 runs off Ashwin. 35/2

Over 5: The wicket of opener Tamim Iqbal and 3 runs off that Bumrah over. 30/2

4.4 Bumrah to Tamim Iqbal, OUT

A massive appeal from Bumrah and Tamim has to go! He planted his front foot forward and right across his stumps and swung across the line at a good length ball, he missed and was hit flush on the pad. That looked pretty out

Over 4: Expensive over from Nehra, but he also snares the wicket of the dangerous Soumya Sarkar. 27/1

3.6 Nehra to Soumya Sarkar, OUT

Caught at mid-off! The length isn’t short enough again to hit across the line but Soumya tries to slog it off the front foot over midwicket, he mis-times it horribly and the ball lobs up towards Pandya who runs forward a few paces to take an easy catch. The crowd - so boisterous during those boundaries - goes silent

Over 3: Three off Bumrah’s first over. 14/0

Over 2: A boundary off Nehra’s first over. Bangladesh 11/0

Over 1: A boundary off the first over from Ashwin. Bangladesh 5/0

Indian T20 captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss and opted to bowl first in the final of the Asia Cup T20 against Bangladesh in Dhaka on Sunday.

(For Live scores and commentary, click here)

Dhoni explained his decision, saying it would be an advantage to bat second in a shortened game.

The match was reduced to a 15-overs-a-side affair after a two-hour delay due to a thunderstorm, which blew off the covers, soaked the outfield and even led to a power outage at the Sher-e-Bangla stadium. The strong winds that ensued also shattered the scoreboard, ANI reported.

The groundstaff got to work as soon as the storm receded, with the Sher-e-Bangla’s excellent drainage also playing a role in getting the pitch back to playing condition in relatively quick time.

India are playing the same side that beat Sri Lanka in the third group game. Therefore, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harbhajan Singh and Pawan Negi, who played against UAE on Friday, are out. Ashish Nehra, Ravindra Jadeja and Ravichandran Ashwin are back in the playing XI.

Bangladesh are playing Nasir Hossain and Abu Hider for the first time in the tournament.



MS Dhoni (captain, wicketkeeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Shikhar Dhawan, Ravindra Jadeja, Virat Kohli, Ashish Nehra, Hardik Pandya, Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma, Yuvraj Singh


Mashrafe Mortaza (captain), Abu Hider, Al-Amin Hossain, Mahmudullah, Mushfiqur Rahim (wicketkeeper), Nasir Hossain, Sabbir Rahman, Shakib Al Hasan, Soumya Sarkar, Tamim Iqbal, Taskin Ahmed

First Published: Mar 06, 2016 20:53 IST