Today in New Delhi, India
Oct 19, 2018-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Injured Rohit Sharma, Kedar Jadhav ruled out of 2017 Deodhar Trophy

Rohit Sharma suffered a knee injury and has been advised rest by the BCCI medical team while Kedar Jadhav will miss the 2017 Deodhar Trophy due to a stomach ailment

cricket Updated: Mar 23, 2017 20:31 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
Deodhar Trophy,2017 Deodhar Trophy,BCCI
Rohit Sharma had just made a comeback form a three-month long injury layoff.(Getty Images)

The Board of Control for Cricket in India’s (BCCI’s) All India Senior Selection Committee has named replacements for Rohit Sharma and Kedar Jadhav, who have been ruled out of the 2017 Deodhar Trophy due to injury.

Rohit Sharma, who has been given a Grade B central contract by the BCCI,suffered a minor knee injury and has been advised rest by the BCCI medical team while Kedar Jadhav has been rested due to a stomach ailment.

Read more | IPL 2017: Imran Tahir replaces injured Mitchell Marsh in Rising Pune Supergiant squad

Rohit Sharma had just made a comeback from a three-month long injury layoff following a thigh injury that required surgery and extensive rehab. The latest injury would be a setback for his plans to make a comeback to the India ODI squad as well as the upcoming Indian Premier League (IPL).

Read more | IPL 2017: From Supergiants to Supergiant, Pune’s new good luck charm

Ruturaj Gaikwad of Maharashtra has been included in the India ‘Blue’ as replacement while Hyderabad’s CV Milind has been named in India ‘Red’. Bengal’s Sreevats Goswami has been added to the India ‘Red’ team.

Harbhajan Singh will now lead the India ‘Blue’ team in the tournament that will be played in Vizag from March 25-29.

The squads:

India ‘Blue’: Harbhajan Singh (Captain), Mandeep Singh, Shreyas Iyer, Ambati Rayudu, Manoj Tiwary, Rishabh Pant (wk), Deepak Hooda, Krunal Pandya, Shahbaz Nadeem, Siddarth Kaul, Shardul Thakur, Prasidh Krishna, Pankaj Rao, Ruturaj Gaikwad

India ‘Red’: Parthiv Patel (Captain & wk), Shikhar Dhawan, Manish Pandey, Mayank Agarwal, Ishank Jaggi, Gurkeerat Mann, Axar Patel, Akshay Karnewar, Ashok Dinda, Kulwant Khejroliya, Dhawal Kulkarni, Govinda Poddar, Sreevats Goswami, CV Milind

First Published: Mar 23, 2017 20:05 IST