JP Duminy to lead South Africa in T20 series against India, Imran Tahir rested
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 16, 2019-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

JP Duminy to lead South Africa in T20 series against India, Imran Tahir rested

JP Duminy was named South Africa skipper for the upcoming T20 series against India starting February 18. Imran Tahir was left out of the squad.

cricket Updated: Feb 13, 2018 16:33 IST
HT Correspondent
South Africa vs India,JP Duminy,Imran Tahir
JP Duminy will lead South Africa in the upcoming T20 series against India.(AFP)

JP Duminy was named stand-in captain as South Africa announced the squad for their three-match T20 series against India starting February 18. Duminy was handed the responsibility in the continued absence of Faf du Plessis who is currently sidelined due to a finger injury.

Christiaan Jonker, fast bowler Junior Dala and wicketkeeper-batsman Heinrich Klaasen were the new faces in the list as South Africa named the squad for their three-match T20 International series against India starting February 18.

Christiaan Jonker and Junior Dala are both seasoned veterans with a lot of experience in the Proteas domestic circuit while Klassen impressed on his international debut when he played a brilliant knock to guide South Africa to victory over India in the fourth ODI encounter in Johannesburg.

READ | India’s sagging middle-order again turns spotlight on MS Dhoni’s batting

“With the Sunfoil Test Series against Australia starting only 5 days after the completion of the T20 Series it is necessary for us to rest some of the players who have featured in virtually all our international matches so far this summer,” commented CSA National Selection Panel Convener Linda Zondi.

“These include Hashim Amla and Aiden Markram among the batsmen as well as most of our frontline fast bowlers. AB de Villiers has missed quite a lot of cricket this summer so he will play in the T20 Series.

The other big name which was not included in the squad was leg-spinner Imran Tahir who was given a break ahead of the Australia series. Tabraiz Shamsi and Aaron Phangiso were named as replacements.

“We have also decided to give Imran Tahir a break. He remains our first-choice spin bowler in both white ball formats,” explained Zondi, “but we need to give more game time to Tabraiz Shamsi and Aaron Phangiso. The next ICC World Twenty20 is not all that far away in 2020 so it is important that we develop and examine our resources for that tournament.

Imran Tahir, left, celebrates with Lungi Ngidi, right, after they took the wicket of MS Dhoni. (AP)

“Christiaan Jonker has been one of the most explosive finishers in domestic T20 cricket in recent seasons and his selection, together with that of Junior Dala, gives players who have performed well at franchise level the opportunity to show that they can compete at the highest level. Heinrich Klaasen’s recent performance speaks for itself,” he added.

South Africa squad: JP Duminy (captain), Farhaan Behardien, Junior Dala, AB de Villiers, Reeza Hendricks, Christiaan Jonker, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Chris Morris, Dane Paterson, Aaron Phangiso, Andile Phehlukwayo, Tabraiz Shamsi, Jon-Jon Smuts.

First Published: Feb 13, 2018 16:17 IST