Full cricket score - India vs South Africa women’s third T20: SA beat IND by 5 wickets

Get full cricket score of India vs South Africa women’s third T20 here. Shabnim Ismail took five wickets as South Africa beat India in the 3rd T20 in Johannesburg on Sunday.

cricket Updated: Feb 18, 2018 16:15 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
India vs South Africa,Live Streaming,Live Cricket Score
Indian women’s cricket team were beaten by South Africa in the 3rd T20 in Johannesburg on Sunday. Get full cricket score of the India vs South Africa women’s T20 here.(Getty Images)

South Africa beat India by five wickets in the third women’s T20 International encounter in Johannesburg on Sunday. The hosts first restricted India to 133 on the back of a five-wicket haul from Woman-of-the-Match medium-pacer Shabnim Ismail and then clobbered the India bowlers to overhaul the target in exactly 19 overs. Sune Luus made 41 off 34 deliveries while skipper Dane van Niekerk (26) and Mignon Du Preez (20) made important contributions too. But it was Chloe Tryon’s 34 off 15 balls (with two massive sixes and four boundaries) that saw them past the finish line after some nervy moments that were of their own making. Get full cricket score of the 3rd T20 between India vs South Africa women here. (NZvENG LIVE BLOG)

16:04 hrs IST: South Africa beat India by 5 wickets in the third women’s T20 encounter in Johannesburg.

15:58 hrs IST: South Africa need 13 runs to win from 2 overs. SA 121/4

15:52 hrs IST: Big wicket for India as Sune Luus departs for 41. SA need 23 to win from 21 balls.

15:47 hrs IST: Expensive over for India as South Africa need 25 runs to win from 24 balls. SA 109/3

15:39 hrs IST: Finally a wicket for India as Poonam Yadav dismisses Mignon du Preez. SA 84/3

15:34 hrs IST: Cautious show by South Africa as they need 62 runs more to win from 48 balls against India

15:27 hrs IST: 10 overs gone. South Africa are 55 for the loss of 2 wickets

15:20 hrs IST: South Africa Women need 91 runs in 72 balls to win the third T20 encounter. SA 44/2

15:13 hrs IST: Dane van Niekerk was completely beaten by Rajeshwari Gayakwad and she departs for 26. SA 34/2

15:10 hrs IST: India need quick wickets to get back into the match. SA 29 for the loss of one wicket.

15:01 hrs IST: Pooja Vastrakar strikes for India. Lizelle Lee is caught in the deep as India get the early breakthrough. SA 12/1

14:57 hrs IST: Slow start for South Africa. The hosts reach 7/0 at the end of the second over.

14:50 hrs IST: In front of near-empty stands, the Indian women’s team wasted a great start to end with 133 in the third game here at the Wanderers. The India women’s team, which leads the series 2-0, folded in 17.5 overs.

After losing Mithali Raj early, Smriti Mandhana and Harmanpreet Kaur built a 55-run partnership. While the two batswomen were at the crease, it looked like India would get to a very strong total. Mandhana looked the more aggressive of the two during her stay, hammering five fours and a six in her 24-ball stay. However, just as she looked good for a half-century, she was caught at deep mid-wicket for 37, off the bowling of leg-spinner Dane van Niekerk.

Veda Krishnamurthy and Harmanpreet added 38 runs. However, once Harmanpreet was dismissed, India suffered meltdown, losing the next seven wickets for just 40 runs.

Right-arm pacer Shabnim Ismail was the pick of the home bowlers, taking five for 30 in four overs. She ran through the middle and lower order. The South Africa women matched their male counterparts on the field, pulling off stunning catches. Suune Luus took a stunning catch at wide mid-on much to the amazement of the small crowd.

14:40 hrs IST: That’s it! A five wicket haul for Shabnim Ismail as Pooja Vastrakar becomes her final victim. IND 133 all out

14:36 hrs IST: Fourth wicket for Shabnim Ismail as Poonam Yadav is caught behind for 3. IND 132/9

14:32 hrs IST: Shikha Pandey departs for 3. India 127 for the loss of 8 wickets.

14:29 hrs IST: Another wicket goes down. It is not looking good for the visitors. IND 125/7

14:28 hrs IST: Perfect yorker by Moseline Daniels as Veda Krishnamurthy’s innings comes to an end on 23, IND 124/6

14:24 hrs IST: 15 overs gone. India are 116 for the loss of 5 wickets.

14:17 hrs IST: Shabnim Ismail strikes once again and this time, her victim is Anuja Patil. IND 108/5

14:14 hrs IST: 13 overs gone. India are 107 for the loss of 4 wickets.

14:06 hrs IST: Second wicket for Shabnim Ismail as Jemimah Rodrigues departs, IND 94/4

14:03 hrs IST: Harmanpreet Kaur misses out on her fifty as she departs for 48, IND 93/3

13:57 hrs IST: Harmanpreet Kaur moves on to 30*. India are 73/2 after 10 overs.

13:53 hrs IST: The run rate has gone down after Mandhana’s dismissal. Jemimah Rodrigues is the new batsman for India. IND 63/2

13:47 hrs IST: Smriti Mandhana goes for the big one, but is caught in the deep for 37, IND 55/2

13:41 hrs IST: Steady batting by both the batsmen. The visitors were off to a horrible start but Mandhana’s innings has brought them back into the game. IND 49/1

13:34 hrs IST: Solid batting by Smriti Mandhana and Harmanpreet Kaur, India 33/1 after 4 overs.

13:25 hrs IST: Four consecutive boundaries for Smriti Mandhana. IND 17/1

13:19 hrs IST: Big wicket for South Africa as Mithali Raj departs for a duck. IND 0/1

13:16 hrs IST: The match is underway!

13:06 hrs IST: Hello and welcome to the 3rd T20 encounter between the Indian women’s cricket team and the South Africa women’s cricket team in Kimberley.

India Women (Playing XI): Mithali Raj, Smriti Mandhana, Harmanpreet Kaur(c), Veda Krishnamurthy, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Anuja Patil, Jemimah Rodrigues, Taniya Bhatia(w), Shikha Pandey, Pooja Vastrakar, Poonam Yadav

South Africa Women (Playing XI): Lizelle Lee(w), Dane van Niekerk(c), Sune Luus, Mignon du Preez, Marizanne Kapp, Nadine de Klerk, Chloe Tryon, Shabnim Ismail, Masabata Klaas, Moseline Daniels, Raisibe Ntozakhe

First Published: Feb 18, 2018 12:41 IST