Sachin Tendulkar comes up with witty reply after ICC trolls him on Twitter
Sachin Tendulkar’s batting excellence is common knowledge for any cricket fan but his bowling was also a major weapon for the Master Blaster and over the years, he has taken many important wickets with his brand of spin.
In a video posted on Twitter, Tendulkar and his friend Vinod Kambli were shown hitting the nets at the Tendulkar-Middlesex Global Academy camp in Navi Mumbai with Tendulkar bowling couple of trademark leg spinners.
“Felt great to be back in the nets with @vinodkambli349 during the @tendulkarmga lunch break! It sure took us back to our childhood days at Shivaji Park... Very few people know that Vinod & I have always been in the same team and never played against each other. #TMGA,” wrote Tendulkar on Twitter.
The video showed that Tendulkar overstepped while bowling a delivery and the official Twitter handle of the International Cricket Council (ICC) took the opportunity to troll the legendary cricketer. “Watch your front foot, @sachin_rt 😜,” the handle wrote on Twitter with a picture of umpire Steve Bucknor.
Steve Bucknor and Tendulkar share an interesting relationship as during his playing days, he was the victim of a number of controversial umpiring calls. However, Tendulkar came up with a witty reply to the tweet as he wrote, “At least this time I am bowling and not batting 😋 .. umpire’s decision is always the final decision. ☝🏻.”
Tendulkar’s son - Arjun Tendulkar - put up a decent all round show as Aakash Tigers Mumbai Western Suburb defeated Triumph Knight Mumbai North East by five wickets in the opening game of the T20 Mumbai League. The youngster snapped up a wicket and then chipped in with 23 runs for Aakash Tigers on his debut.
Enter your email to get our daily newsletter in your inbox
- In its brief history, day-night Tests have tended to assist fast bowlers. In the 15 day-night Tests that have been played around the world before the ongoing match, fast bowlers have taken 354 wickets at an average of 24.47, and spinners 115 wickets at 35.38.
- "The England captain and head coach spoke with the match referee after play," an England team spokesperson said in the report.
- It was his second five-for in just his second Test for Team India. By doing so, the 27-year-old spinner also became only the third Indian bowler to take a 5-wicket haul in his first two matches.
- Gill shone bright in the series down under and scored a half century in the first innings of the first Test against England but has been guilty of giving his wicket away a couple of times in the series already.
- The TV umpire overruled the “Out” soft signal (on-field umpires’ own call before technology adjudicates) and the incident renewed the debate whether soft signal can be an informed decision with very limited reaction time for the umpires on ground.